Il Pomo d'Oro - Gesualdo: Sacrae Canciones | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Gesualdo: Sacrae Canciones
Artist: Il Pomo d'Oro
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 03/17/2023
UPC: 5051083186551

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Gesualdo: Ave Regina Colorum
2. Gesualdo: Venit Lumen Tuum
3. Gesualdo: Ave, Dulcissima Maria
4. Gesualdo: Reminiscere Miserationum Tuarum
5. Gesualdo: Dignare Me Laudare Te
6. Gesualdo: Sancti Spiritus, Domine
7. Gesualdo: Domine, Ne Despicias Deprecationem Meam
8. Gesualdo: Hei Mihi Domine
9. Gesualdo: Laboravi in Gemitu Meo
10. Gesualdo: Peccantem Me Quotidie
11. Gesualdo: O Vos Omnes
12. Gesualdo: Exaudi, Deus, Deprecationem Meam
13. Gesualdo: Precibus Et Meritis
14. Gesualdo: O Crux Benedicta
15. Gesualdo: Tribularer Si Nescirem
16. Gesualdo: Deus, Refugium Et Virtus
17. Gesualdo: Tribulationem Et Dolorem
18. Gesualdo: Illumina Faciem Tuam
19. Gesualdo: Maria, Mater Gratiæ

More Info:

Well established in the field of historically informed performance, the Italian ensemble Il Pomo d'Oro has recently expanded: it now includes a choir, and this is it's first solo recording. Conducted by Giuseppe Maletto, the ensemble presents here Gesualdo's fascinating first book of Sacræ Cantiones. Less well known than his madrigals, the nineteen five-part motets that make up this work explore the theme of repentance through the Liturgy of Penance and the figure of the Virgin Mary. The painfully voluptuous chromaticism and the expressive intensity and refinement of the lines make this work one of the most singular of that period. Gesualdo's interpretation of the liturgical text is intensely dramatic and highly personal. Il Pomo d'Oro renders perfectly the mysterious beauty of this music.