Charles Mingus - Mingus Takes Manhattan - Complete Birdland Dates | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Mingus Takes Manhattan - Complete Birdland Dates
Artist: Charles Mingus
Format: Vinyl


Label: Newland+
Rel. Date: 01/05/2024
UPC: 5051083188432

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. *** 21st October 1961 - 24th March 1962
2. Nouroog
3. Ecclusiastics
4. Hog Callin` Blues
5. Take The `A' Train
6. Fables Of Faubus
7. Eat That Chicken
8. *** 31st March 1962 - 5th May 1962
9. Monk, Funk Or Vice Versa
10. Oh Lord, Don't Let Them...
11. Eat That Chicken
12. Reets and I
13. *** 5th May 1962 - 12th May 1962
14. Monk, Funk or Vice Versa
15. Devil Woman
16. Eat That Chicken
17. Introduction by Symphony Syd
18. Peggy's Blue Skylight
19. Tijuana Table Dance (aka Ysabel's Table Dance)
20. Eat That Chicken
21. *** 19th October 1962 - 26th October 1962
22. The Search (I Can't Get Started)
23. Monk, Funk or Vice Versa
24. Please Don't Come Back From The Moon
25. Eat That Chicken
26. Monk, Funk or Vice Versa
27. O.P.
28. The Search (I Can't Get Started)

More Info:

Box Set. Mingus Takes Manhattan collects together Charles Mingus' run of dates at the world famous Birdland, New York from 1961-1962, released here officially for the first time ever in conjunction with the Mingus Estate. The original reel-to-reel tapes used to record the radio broadcasts were tracked down, cleaned and remastered especially for this release. Previously only issued in bootleg form, the recordings enclosed feature Mingus in the midst of a highly creative spell. Alternating between bass and piano during these sets features a rotating band of heavy hitters including Yusef Lateef, Roland Kirk, Jaki Byard, Booker Ervin, Pepper Adams as well as Mingus mainstays Charles McPherson, Dannie Richmond and others. Located in a basement in the Bronx, these incredibly rare recordings are given their best sonic outing since 1962. At the centre of this package is a 44-page book with a foreword from Christian McBride, a highly informative 15,000 word essay from Brian Priestley and a new interview with Charles McPherson, giving context and inside information to the dates and the time. All of this is illustrated with slick design and rare photographs and ephemera throughout.