Zoltan Darago - Bach: Arias For Alto | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Zoltan Darago - Bach: Arias For Alto
Bach: Arias For Alto
Artist: Zoltan Darago
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/13/2024
UPC: 5051083195447

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Bach: O Ewigkeit, Du Donnerwort, BWV 20 Aria: O Mensch, Errette Deine Seele
2. Bach: Allein Zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 33 Aria: Wie Furchtsam Wankten Meine Schritte
3. Bach: O Ewiges Feuer, O Ursprung Der Liebe, BWV 34 Aria: Wohl Euch, Ihr Auserwählten Seelen
4. Bach: Geist Und Seele Wird Verwirret, BWV 35 Aria: Geist Und Seele Wird Verwirret
5. Bach: Geist Und Seele Wird Verwirret, BWV 35 Aria: Gott Hat Alles Wohl Gemacht!
6. Bach: Erfreute Zeit Im Neuen Bunde, BWV 83 Aria: Erfreute Zeit Im Neuen Bunde
7. Bach: Es Ist Euch Gut, Daß Ich Hingehe, BWV 108 Aria: Was Mein Herz Von Dir Begehrt
8. Bach: Ach, Lieben Christen, Seid Getrost, BWV 114 Aria: Du Machst, O Tod, Mir Nun Nicht Ferner Bange
9. Bach: Mache Dich, Mein Geist, Bereit, BWV 115 Aria: Ach, Schläfrige Seele, Wie?
10. Bach: Vergnügte Ruh', Beliebte Seelenlust, BWV 170 Aria: Vergnügte Ruh, Beliebte Seelenlust
11. Bach: Barmherziges Herze Der Ewigen Liebe, BWV 185 Aria: Sei Bemüht in Dieser Zeit

More Info:

When Bach obtained the post of kantor at the Thomaskirche, he embarked on one of his most ambitious projects: composing an original work for the entire liturgical year. Between 1723 and 1726, he produced a cantata for each Sunday. These cantatas were veritable laboratories for musical creation, with the composer lending them various vocal and instrumental ensembles. Within this repertoire, the alto voice takes on a special connotation, sometimes dolorous, sometimes fervent, and Bach gives it some of his most beautiful arias. Christophe Rousset and the countertenor Zoltan Darago explore this repertoire in a program drawn mainly from the abundant early years in Leipzig, which gives a great place to the concertante parts, featuring sublime dialogues between violin, oboe d'amore or organ and voice.