Voka Gentle - Writhing! | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Artist: Voka Gentle
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/07/2022
UPC: 5053760076360

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Kestrel
2. Necrofauna/The Garden of Eden (Feat. Wayne Coyne)
3. Horse Latitudes
4. A Selving
5. Respect My Eccentricity Pt. 1
6. Respect My Eccentricity Pt. 2
7. Miasma Field Modulator (Trafalgar Square)+/-Field Recs (Feat. Oliver Wilde)
8. TV BraT
9. See Damage (????)
10. Election Day
11. Dread/Tkoe (Feat. Bells)
12. [When We Go, We're Taking You All with Us!]
13. Slow Joe
14. The Black Swell

More Info:

Operating on a plane between avant-garde indie, bubbling electronica and cosmic psychedelia, London group Voka Gentle have an addictive, amorphous sound. A three limb ed beast made up of twins Ellie and Imogen Mason, and William J. Stokes, each is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer with an imperious understanding of three dimensional sound. The newest single 'Necrofauna / The Garden of Eden' - features Wayne Coyne from The Flaming Lips. The hallucinatory mix of squelching synth bass and rhythmic samples, three-tiered harmonies playing off against William's sprechgesang, and a cutting, full-bodied drum beat is reflected in the oneiric themes. "This song is a dream sequence about the narrator entering the Garden of Eden, the emblem of an idealised pastoral relationship with the natural world, and realising they can't stand it and want t o consume and bring destruction to it (I see a deer pass me by and I break it's neck / Rip off it's hind leg and take a bite through fur, sinew and bone)." 'Necrofauna / The Garden of Eden' - recorded with neo-metal battalion Pigsx7 guitarist and producer Sam Grant - is the first release in earnest since 2019's acclaimed debut album 'Start Clanging Cymbals', released via Nude Records. Having come through the dues - paying gestation period that leads up to a debut record, there's a sense of liberation around this new phase for Voka Gentle - a subtle confidence in their craft. It's well earned too - with high praise from the likes of UNCUT, MOJO and The Line of Best Fit at press. Support comes too from BBC 6 Music - including presenting an edition of Stuart Maconie's Freak Zone - and Radio 1. Tracks from that album also featured on FIFA 19 and The Sims 2020, aiding in recognition.