Twisted Dream Machine (The Paisley Underground - Twisted Dream Machine (The Paisley Underground | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. The Three 'O' Clock - Jet Fighter
2. The Rain Parade - Don't Feel Bad
3. True West - Lucifer Sam
4. Bangles - Going Down to Liverpool
5. Thin White Rope - Down in the Desert
6. Game Theory - 24
7. The Dream Syndicate - Definitely Clean
8. The Long Ryders - Too Close to the Light
9. Green on Red - Illustrated Crawling 1
10. 28th Day - Pages Turn 1
11. The Dream Syndicate - That's What You Always Say 1
12. The Pandoras - in and Out of My Life (In a Day) 1
13. The Long Ryders - Ivory Tower 1
14. The Three 'O' Clock - with a Cantaloupe Girlfriend 1
15. Bangles - All About You 1
16. The Rain Parade - Talking in My Sleep 1
17. The Three 'O' Clock - Her Heads Revolving 1
18. True West - Shot You Down 1
19. Wednesday Week - If Only 2
20. Thin White Rope - Exploring the Axis 2
21. The Rain Parade - Mystic Green 2
22. Green on Red - Lost World

More Info:

Futurismo proudly present a celebration of the Paisley Underground scene with TWISTED DREAM MACHINE The Paisley Underground / California's Psychedelic Renaissance: 1982-1986, the next volume in their Altered Vision compilation series. This collection draws from the neo psychedelic movement that took hold in California during the early to mid 80's, one that melded the psychedelia, country, garage rock, avant-garde and pop of the 60's with the DIY ethos of the then burgeoning punk scene, a hypnotic amalgamation of sound that came in staunch contrast to the blown out sonic excesses of the time. Twisted Dream Machine takes you on a trip from the city to the desert, as the kaleidoscope of noise drifts from the The Dream Syndicate's Velvet Underground inspired take on Crazy Horse and The Three O'Clock's chiming baroque powerpop, to Rain Parade's dreamy Beatlesesque melodies and the Bangles hook-laden Love inspired pop. Also featured are the wondrous sounds of Green On Red, The Long Ryder's, Game Theory, True West, Thin White Rope and others highly worth your attention. If you are not familiar with some of the bands here, you will surely question how that is possible. The Paisley Underground, if anything, encapsulated a certain musical mindset, an outlook where the past and the future would collide in the moment. This thread would bond the bands, yet each honed it's own sound in a twisted incarnation of the seeds planted two decades earlier. Whilst the 'scene' did remain contained, it's influence did in fact spread throughout mainstream culture as the Bangles stuck a chord into the heart of MTV, whilst Prince took inspiration from the movement in his own songwriting and the naming of Paisley Park, as well as signing The Three O'Clock to his label and writing one of the Bangles biggest hits. As you listen to the tracks on Twisted Dream Machine you will be reminded that there is still music left to discover and inspire, this compilation is aimed to hopefully delight longtime fans, as well as ignite a passion for those new to the bands. The Paisley Underground was the sound of neo psychedelic rock, it was subterranean pop... in the classic sense, it was alternative rock before the term existed, a distillation of the fundamentals present at the dawn of rock 'n' roll, with a twist. The bands of the Paisley Underground may have been writing out of their own time, but as you listen to them in today's context these songs should be heard as landmarks, rather than throwbacks. After all, nothing this good should stay underground. This 2xLP comes on limited edition coloured vinyl, it is housed in a gloss laminated outer sleeve with colour inner sleeves and contains a large fold-out poster with unseen photos and liner notes by Lisa Fancher of Frontier. Also available on CD with Gloss laminated Sleeve and Fold Out Poster.