Prokofiev / Itzhak Perlman - Prokofiev: Violin Concertos (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store

More Info:

The distinctive character of each of Prokofiev's Violin Concertos seems rooted in it's genesis: the first, nervy and iconoclastic, coincided with the Russian Revolution; the second, more sober and expansively lyrical, dates from 1935, when Prokofiev was preparing a permanent return to his native country. The two concertos were written nineteen years apart - a period that coincides almost completely with the years Prokofiev spent "in exile", first in the US and then in France. He composed No. 1 shortly before leaving Russia, and No. 2 just months before his return to the Soviet Union. It is hardly surprising, therefore, that the two works are so different from one another. Perlman chose to record these two concertos with Gennady Rozhdestvensky, whose experience in this repertoire he no doubt deemed second to none.