Otto Klemperer - Wagner: Orchestral Music - Klemperer Conducts | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Wagner: Orchestral Music - Klemperer Conducts
Artist: Otto Klemperer
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 08/25/2023
UPC: 5054197579875

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Rienzi: Overture
2. Der Fliegende Holländer: Overture
3. Tannhäuser: Overture
4. Lohengrin: Prelude to Act 1
5. Lohengrin: Prelude to Act 3
6. Die Meistersinger Von Nürnberg, Act 1: Prelude
7. Die Meistersinger Von Nürnberg, Act 3: Dance of the Apprentices ; Entry of the Masters
8. Tristan Und Isolde: Prelude to Act 1 - Liebestod
9. Götterdämmerung, Act 3: Siegfried's Funeral March
10. Das Rheingold: Entry of the Gods
11. Die Walküre, Act 3: Ride of the Walkyries
12. Siegfried, Act 2: Forest Murmurs
13. Götterdämmerung, Interlude: Siegfried's Rhine Journey
14. Tannhäuser, Act 3: Prelude
15. Parsifal, Act 1: Prelude

More Info:

Several of the recordings on this disc date from 1960, when Otto Klemperer celebrated his 75th birthday and Wieland Wagner, the composer's grandson, saluted the conductor as "a unique artistic phenomenon". Klemperer's mastery of Wagner's music was rooted in the early years of his career: by the age of 30 he had conducted performances of Lohengrin, Der fliegende Holländer, Tannhäuser, Der Ring des Nibelungen, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Parsifal and Tristan und Isolde."The performances on these records are all superbly played and recorded. Klemperer is a great Wagner conductor, probably the greatest in the world." GramophoneThe German-born conductor Otto Klemperer, a towering figure in the musical history of the 20th century, died at the age of 88 on July 8th 1973, so 2023 will mark the 50th anniversary of his death. His complete recordings on Warner Classics catalogue are being made available for the first time in 2 huge separate boxes; the first volume with the Symphonic Works, Concertos & Lieder (95CD) will be released in June 2023. All recordings are remastered in HD 192/24 from original sources.