Yussef Dayes - Black Classical Music | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Black Classical Music (ft. Venna & Charlie Stacey)
2. Afro Cubanism
3. Raisins Under The Sun (ft. Shabaka Hutchings)
4. Rust (ft. Tom Misch)
5. Turqouise Galaxy
6. The Light (ft. Bahia Dayes)
7. Pon Di Plaza (ft. Chronixx)
8. Magnolia Symphony
9. Early Dayes
10. Chasing The Drums
11. Birds of Paradise
12. Gelato
13. Marching Band (ft. Masego)
14. Crystal Palace Park (ft. Elijah Fox)
15. Presidential (ft. Jahaan Sweet)
16. Jukebox
17. Woman’s Touch (ft. Jamilah Barry)
18. Tioga Pass (ft. Rocco Palladino)
19. Cowrie Charms (ft. Leon Thomas & Barbara Hicks)

More Info:

Black Classical Music, the first official solo release of the acclaimed UK drummer, Yussef Dayes. Across 19 tracks, it melds the spirit of everything from 70s funk, reggae and Senegalese percussion while simultaneously nodding to furious dancefloor pacings of the soundsystem continuum. At every turn, Yussef’s distinctive drum licks and Rocco Palladino’s bass are the sturdy anchors; aided by Charlie Stacey/Elijah Fox (keys/synths), Venna (saxophone) and a whole host of honorable features including: Chronixx, Jamilah Barry, Tom Misch, Shabaka Hutchings, Miles James, Sheila Maurice Grey, Nathaniel Cross, Theon Cross and the Chineke! Orchestra, the first professional orchestra in Europe to be made up of majority Black and ethnically diverse musicians.

Yussef Dayes’ rise can be first linked to the short lived duo Yussef Kamaal, with keyboardist Kamaal Williams who released one album Black Focus, in 2016.  2019/2020 birthed two EPs and one album within close proximity: Blackfriars, and Duality, and sandwiched in between, What Kinda Music, a collaboration with Tom Misch. Since then, his list of collaborators has blossomed to include an official remix of Pa Salieu’s “Frontline”, drums on “Motor City Madness (People Mover Remix)” for Waajeed, and on Wizkid’s “Made In Lagos” album, plus production for Kali Uchis (“Blue”) and Kehlani (“Hate The Club”) and 2022’s joint release with Soulection entitled Live At Joshua Tree.