Mary Martin - On Air 1939-1950 (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

On Air 1939-1950 (Uk)
Artist: Mary Martin
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 11/26/2021
UPC: 5055122190899

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. That's for Me (From the Film 'Rhythm on the River')
2. The American Waltz
3. Katie Went to Haiti (From 'Du Barry Was a Lady')
4. All Alone (With Dick Powell)
5. Ferryboat Serenade (With Dick Powell)
6. When You're Smiling
7. Be Careful It's My Heart (From the Film 'Holiday Inn')
8. Down Argentine Way (From the Film 'Down Argentine Way')
9. Conchita Marquita Lolita Pepita Rosita Juanita Lopez (With Dick Powell)
10. The Moving Picture of My Heart (With Dick Powell)
11. Why Do I Love You (From 'Show Boat') (With Dick Powell)
12. I Get a Kick Out of You / I've Got You Under My Skin
13. Do It Again
14. My Heart Belongs to Daddy (From 'Leave It to Me!')
15. In a Moonboat
16. Our Love Affair (From the Film 'Strike Up the Band') (With Dick Powell)
17. I Love Her Oh Oh Oh (With Dick Powell)
18. I Want a Doll (With Dick Powell)
19. I Left My Heart at the Stage Door Canteen (From 'This Is the Army')
20. This Is Worth Fighting for
21. He Wears a Pair of Silver Wings
22. Hometown
23. Love Is a Song That Never Ends (From the Film 'Bambi')
24. Time on My Hands (From 'Smile')
25. When Day Is Done
26. Goodnight Sweetheart
27. The Trolley Song (From the Film 'Meet Me in St. Louis')
28. The Saga of Jenny (From 'Lady in the Dark')
29. You're Devastating (From 'Roberta') (With Kenny Baker)
30. Still a Bluebird Sings
31. I'll Walk Alone (From the Film 'Follow the Boys')
32. I'll See You in My Dreams
33. I'm Getting Tired So I Can Sleep (From 'This Is the Army')
34. Little Man You've Had a Busy Day
35. Il Bacio (Excerpt)
36. Caro Nome (From 'Rigoletto')
37. The Maids of Cadiz
38. Lo Like the Gentle Lark
39. He Loves Me Not
40. Listen to the Mockingbird
41. Tit Willow (From 'The Mikado')
42. Ain't Misbehavin'
43. There's No Business Like Show Business (From 'Annie Get Your Gun')
44. I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair (From 'South Pacific')
45. A Wonderful Guy (From 'South Pacific')
46. Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin' (From 'Oklahoma!')
47. He Comes from Timbukthree
48. Reuben and Rachel (With Dick Powell)
49. Rudy Vallee Introduces 'My Heart Belongs to Daddy' (From 'Leave It to Me!')
50. The Sweetest Sight
51. Tit Willow (Alternate Version) (From 'The Mikado') (Bonus Track)

More Info:

'On Air' is a ground breaking collection representing a landmark archival discovery of Mary Martin broadcast recordings from 1939-1950. Almost all of the performances featured on this collection have gone unheard since their original transmission and this release ensures these historic broadcasts are no longer lost to history. Issued as a Deluxe 2CD Set, the album compiles selections from Mary's many broadcasts for the 'Good News' and 'Kraft Music Hall' shows for which she was resident vocalist. Other highlights include Mary's first radio broadcast of her signature song 'My Heart Belongs to Daddy', introduced by Rudy Vallée. The selections include popular standards of the era, songs from Mary's own back catalogue of stage and film productions and her unique interpretations of operatic arias in the style of swing. 'On Air' is a collaboration with The Mary Martin Collection & Archive at The Doss Heritage and Culture Center in Weatherford, Texas. The release features extensive sleeve notes by Broadway historian and Mary Martin archivist George Dansker