Daniil Shafran / Ussr Symphony Orchestra - Daniil Shafran: Cello Masterpieces Haydn/Schubert | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Joseph Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 2 in D Major, Op. 101
2. Schubert: Sonata in a Minor ('Arpeggione')
3. Shostakovich: Cello Sonata, Op. 40

More Info:

(Stephen Isserlis): "I love his playing. Sebastian Comberti came up with the best description... it was like finding the last member of a lost tribe of cellists. His playing takes you right back to a different era" "(Schubert) Shafran emerges as very able... not as rhythmically wayward as Rostropovich... The finale has an irresistible rhythmic lilt. (Shostakovich) presents a fuller picture of Shafran's artistry. He plays with very serious commitment, considerable tonal variety and technical ease, and has a splendid partner in Lydia Pecherskaya - a very perceptive musician throughout the Schubert too. The charm of the Allegretto is very well caught by both artists" (Haydn): Shafran claimed that his affinity with the concerto began before birth: his father was practicing it when his mother went into labour and was reluctant to take her to the hospital until it was perfect !" (Gramophone)