Nikolai Georgievsky / Choir Of The Church Of The - Chesnokov: Liturgy Of St.John Chrysostom Op.42 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Great Ektene 'Bless the Lord, O My Soul'
2. Glory to the Father and the Only-Begotten Son' Small Ektene 'In Thy Kingdom Remember Us, O Lord' 'Come Let Us Worship
3. 'Lord, Save"; the Trisagion of Good Friday After Reading the Apostolic Epistle; After Reading the Gospel Litany of Fervent Suppl
4. The Cherubic Hymn; Ektene of Supplication
5. The Creed
6. A Mercy of Peace' 'To Thee We Sing
7. It Is Meet
8. Ektene of Supplication 'Our Father' (Lord's Prayer)
9. Praise the Lord from the Heavens
10. Conclusion

More Info:

"Chesnokov represents a late flowering of Russian Orthodox traditions in the years before the Revolution... composers sought to renew the style by returning it to it's roots in Medieval Slavic chant. Chesnokov excelled in this style, and in his many liturgical works was able to find an ideal balance between tradition and expression. His music was valued for it's clarity, both in his voicing of harmonies and in his setting of texts. The Liturgy exemplifies Chesnokov's approach, using traditional chant melodies and bringing them to the fore, but adding rich layers of harmony. These are made possible by the inclusion of female voices." (Gavin Dixon 2021)