Russian National Orchestra / Mikhail Pletnev - Taneyev: At The Reading Of A Psalm (Cantata No. 2) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Chorus (Allegro Tempestuoso)
2. Double Chorus (Andante Sostenuto)
3. Chorus. Triple Fugue (Andante-Allegro Molto)
4. Chorus (Allegro Moderato-Fuga. Allegro Tenebroso)
5. Quartet (Andante)
6. Quartet and Shorus (Adagio Ma Non Troppo)
7. Interlude (Allegro Appassionato)
8. Aria (Alto Solo) (Adagio Piu Tosto Largo)
9. Double Chorus. Finale. (Adagio Pietoso E Molto Cantabile - Allegro Moderato - Allegro Molto)

More Info:

(This) is an overlooked masterpiece of the Russian music literature... and I hope our disc will bring the recognition which it well deserves." (Mikhail Pletnev) "Psalm 50 made a deep impression on Alexey Khomyakov, whose 1856 poem develops the idea that outward forms of religion are as nothing beside truth and brotherly love... (his) poem inspired Taneyev... a summation of Taneyev's life and work... (bears) comparison with Beethoven's Missa Solemnis, especially use of fugues... a compelling piece which Pletnev does well to clarify so successfully... includes a fine solo warmly sung by Marianna Tarassova." (Gramophone)