Detlef Bensmnn / Berlin Saxophone Quartet - Saxophone Concertos & Quartets Glazunov | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Glazunov: Concerto in Eb for Alto Saxophone ; Strings Op. 109
2. Villa-Lobos: Fantasia for Soprano Saxophone, 3 Horns ; Strings
3. Frank Martin: Ballade for Tenor Saxophone ; Orchestra
4. Jean Rivier: Concerto for Alto Saxophone, Trumpet ; Strings I Allegro Burlesco
5. Adagio
6. Vivcissimo
7. Glazunov: Canzona Variée Quartet in BB Op. 109
8. Jean Françaix: Petit Quatuor
9. Nikolaus Schäuble: 'Duke Ellington Medley'

More Info:

[Villa Lobos] 'incorporates nationalistic musical elements of Brazil along with melodic, lullaby-like themes, to make a truly contrasting and interesting three-movement work.' (Classic FM) 'Brazilian sonorities and rhythms are a perfect match for the saxophone' (WFMT) [Glazunov] 'persistence paid off for Raschèr, who badgered Glazunov to write him a concerto. The Russian relented and the result - three short, pleasingly lyrical movements - was premiered by Raschèr' (BBC Music Magazine) 'Glaznov's Quartet is a foundational piece for the instrument' (WFMT)