Tapani Rinne / Maki-Patola,Juha - Open (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Brevity
2. Open Part I
3. Still
4. Distant
5. Leave
6. Peak
7. Open Part II
8. Hope
9. Fall
10. Hover

More Info:

Hush Hush Records is proud to present a bold new exploration within their cinematic, atmospheric, and genre-free sonic universe with Open, a collaborative album between veteran Finnish musicians Tapani Rinne and Juha Mäki-Patola. An organic melding of each musician's distinctive style that yields their own unique shared language, Open reveals a cohesive meditative thread through ambient, jazz, and neo-classical music, paving the way for a refreshingly cool and sophisticated Nordic sound. Tapani and Juha were strangers prior to connecting online in February, yet they've both been active players within the Finnish music community for decades. Tapani's illustrious career as a saxophonist, clarinetist, and composer has been an evolving path of collaborative works, solo releases, and an array of commissioned work dating back to the mid-1980s. He was featured prominently on legendary Finnish jazz drummer/composer Edward Vesala's critically acclaimed 1987 album Lumi for ECM Records, and the following year he co-founded RinneRadio, a pioneering Finnish outfit that forged a thrilling experimental intersection between jazz and techno. An integral and prolific member of the Finnish music scene since these formative beginnings, Tapani has played with numerous bands and released a handful of ambient-leaning solo albums too, most recently unveiling the dreamy and ominous Foghornia in 2020. Regardless of the project, Tapani's trusty melodic reed work has long been characterized by an evocative range, intuitive pulse, and collaborative spirit. It is this consistent communal curiosity that opened the doors for this album, as he was happy to join forces with emerging solo composer Juha Mäki-Patola upon a simple invitation via Instagram to work together on new material. Open was written quickly during a 3-month creative burst in early 2021. Working remotely from their respective home studios in Helsinki, the two artists eagerly traded ideas back-and-forth to find a warm, immersive, and transportive shared sonic vision. Tapani's rich saxophone and clarinet melodies blend seamlessly into Juha's complimentary guitar, piano, organ, and synthesizer compositions. Sometimes Tapani's contributions joyfully dance around in the foreground, elsewhere they provide a deep, subtle, cavernous accompaniment to Juha's lush arrangements. Opening track "Brevity" introduces their combined palette in welcoming fashion, Tapani's duelling melodies interweaving gently within Juha's twinkling minimal foundation before swelling alongside additional layers of piano. Lead single "Open Pt. 1" provides the album's most upfront and immediate moment, Tapani's exploratory saxophone melodies dominating the spotlight to glide atop a meditative piano motif. Penultimate track "Fall" serves as another early single off the album, it's undulating pulse finding beauty in it's restraint and spotlighting the duo's atmospheric strengths. "Hover" eases the listener towards a gracious finale, Tapani and Juha having a playful dialogue with rich organ chords laying the groundwork for Tapani's whimsical saxophone. Over it's 10-song run through cerebral jazz, glacial ambient, and cinematic neo-classical styles, Open introduces a delightful new shade into both artist's repertoires as well as Hush Hush's amorphous catalog. Stylistically reminiscent of Floating Points and Pharaoh Sanders' instant 2021 classic Promises, Open distinguishes itself with an expansive and contemplative aesthetic informed by Finland's icy climate and long winters, as well as the atmospheric nature of the Nordic experimental jazz scene. Boasting a rich painterly sound that beautifully blends ambient, jazz, and neo-classical into their own unique expression, Tapani and Juha seamlessly fuse their talents to create a hypnotic debut collaborative record. File under: Jazz/ Ambient/ Neo-classical