Andres / Wiancko / Kaplan - Fluid Dynamics | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store

More Info:

American violinist Rachel Lee Priday presents a new collection of world-premiere recordings for the violin, written by some of the foremost American composers of today, drawing on the laws of fluid dynamics and situating trailblazing new repertoire within the laws of physics.Following a chance encounter with an Ocean scientist in 2019, and later being contacted by Georgy Manucharyan of the University of Washington with fascinating videos of a fluid dynamics lab, Rachel Lee Priday sought a musical response to these visual phenomena. The nautical themes of chaos in the systems of the oceans and atmosphere, combined with the theme of deriving energy from nature formed the basis for a host of leading American composers to collaborate on the themes of individuality, chance, and interpretation.Rachel Lee Priday's career to date is distinctive not just for her "irresistible panache" (Chicago Tribune) and international acclaim as a violinist, but also as a musician who operates in conversation with literary and cultural narratives. "Fluid Dynamics" pulls on these two threads simultaneously, as she continues to deliver masterful performances of thought-provoking repertoire, whilst offering an introspection that channels outside forces into engaging and compelling performance.