Watkins / Nabarro / Orchestra Nova - Chamber Music & Works For String Orchestra | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store

More Info:

Widely recognised as the leading Welsh composer of his generation, Huw Watkins is an increasingly prolific writer of works for chamber ensembles, alongside his distinguished career as a pianist. Composed between 2009 and 2022, the five works featured on this disc take the listener on a fascinating journey through Watkins's recent musical evolution. The acclaimed Leonore Piano Trio begin with the earliest of these works - the 2009 Piano Trio No. 1 - whilst conductor George Vass's Orchestra Nova brings us the Little Symphony for strings and exquisite Concertino for violin and strings, performed here by trio violinist Benjamin Nabarro. The trio is joined by violist Rachel Roberts for Watkins' luminous Piano Quartet, while the programme concludes withthe 2022 Piano Trio No. 2 - written for the fortieth anniversary of the Presteigne Festival and premiered there by the Leonore Piano Trio.