Big Williams Joe - & His Nine String Guitar [180 Gram] (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Whistlin' Pines
2. Bluebird Blues
3. She'll Be Comin' Round the Mountain
4. Elevate Me Baby
5. Mama Don't Allow Me to Fool Around All Night Long
6. Kings Highway Blues
7. Somebody's Been Foolin' #1
8. T.B. Blues
9. King Biscuit Stomp
10. Delta Blues
11. Somebody's Been Foolin' #3
12. Rootin' Ground Hog
13. Don't Leave Me Here

More Info:

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Big Joe Williams is seen by many as the ultimate incarnation of the Delta Country Blues player, and several of his songs have become standards in the Blues canon. Known for being rough on his guitars, it one of the reasons for the ongoing tinkering that led to the construction of his first nine string instrument. This fine studio album was released in 1962 on the Folkways Label after being recorded the year before. It contains King Highway Blues, a slow and at times almost spoken track. Where as Somebody's Been Foolin' is fairly driven along by Ransom Knowling's Bass. In 1968 Downbeat Magazine, simply stated that "Big Joe Williams' Blues is a beautiful experience". Listen to this album and you'll agree.