Sonya Bach - Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No. 2 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No. 2
Artist: Sonya Bach
Format: Vinyl


Label: Rubicon
Rel. Date: 05/13/2022
UPC: 5065002228017

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No.2 in B-Flat minor, Op.36: I. Allegro Agitato (Revised 1931 Version)
2. Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No.2 in B-Flat minor, Op.36: II. Non Allegro (Revised 1931 Version)
3. Rachmaninov: Piano Sonata No.2 in B-Flat minor, Op.36: III. L'istesso Tempo - Allegro Molto (Revised 1931 Version)
4. Rachmaninov: Ten Preludes, Op.23: No.4 in D Major, Andante
5. Rachmaninov: Ten Preludes, Op.23: No.5 in G minor, Alla Marcia
6. Rachmaninov: Ten Preludes, Op.23: No.6 in E-Flat Major, Andante
7. Rachmaninov: Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No.1 in B-Flat minor, Andantino
8. Rachmaninov: Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No.2 in E-Flat minor, Allegretto
9. Rachmaninov: Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No.3 in B minor, Andante Cantabile
10. Rachmaninov: Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No.4 in E minor, Presto
11. Rachmaninov: Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No.5 in D-Flat Major, Adagio Sostenuto
12. Rachmaninov: Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No.6 in C Major, Maestoso

More Info:

Rachmaninov's 2nd Piano Sonata was extensively revised by the composer in 1931, and the revised version is tighter and thinner in texture than the original version of 1913. It represents a supreme challenge to the pianist in either version, and has all the hallmarks of the composer at the height of his powers. The 6 Moments Musicaux Op.16 are early works which exhibit the flamboyance of the youthful virtuoso. Sonya Bach includes three of the Preludes from the Op.23 set.