Tennessee Ernie Ford / Strange, Billy - Classic Trio Albums, 1964 & 1975 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Take Me Back And Try Me One More Time
2. No Letter Today
3. Born To Lose
4. Don't Rob Another Man's Castle
5. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
6. I Don't Hurt Anymore
7. Worried Mind
8. No One Will Ever Know
9. Funny How Time Slips Away
10. Sweet Dreams
11. Tears On My Pillow
12. May You Never Be Alone
13. Trouble In Mind
14. (I'd Be) A Legend In My Time
15. Here Comes My Baby Back Again
16. There Goes My Everything
17. She Called Me Baby
18. I Gotta Have My Baby Back
19. Nobody Wins
20. Loving Her Was Easier
21. I Really Don't Want To Know
22. For The Good Times

More Info:

-Tennessee Ernie Ford's trio albums: simple clarity... natural depth. -Tennessee Ernie Ford's two trio albums: 'Country Hits... Feelin' Blue' (1964) 'Ernie Sings & Glen Picks' (1975) paired here by Bear Family Recordsr for the first time in any format. -An early template for the 'unplugged' album... decades before that recording technique became a trend in popular music. -Featured musicians: guitarist extraordinaire Billy Strange and upright bassist John Moshe (1964), and country and pop crossover superstar/guitarist/harmony singer Glen Campbell and acoustic bassist Chuck Domanico (1975). -To many in the know these are the finest LP releases of secular music from the singer's long career, with a voice that was well-worn yet enduring. -Extensive liner notes by East Tennessean, Dr. Ted Olson, Professor of Appalachian Studies at East Tennessee State University in Johnson City. -The full-color booklet contains previously unseen photos from the recording sessions. In 2015 Bear Family Records collected Ford's 78 RPM releases along with his 1950s LPs of secular music in the 5-CD boxed set 'Tennessee Ernie Ford: Portrait of an American Singer, 1949-1960' (BCD17332). That set, though, did not incorporate any of Ford's recordings released after 1960. Ford is most often remembered today for his early recordings. In 1955, the singer scored a massive national crossover hit with his finger-snapped rendition of Sixteen Tons. He remained a prolific recording artist through the early 1980s. Bear Family's release of this single-CD featuring two trio albums presents recordings Ford himself would have wanted to be considered in any discussions about his legacy 'Country Hits... Feelin' Blue' and 'Ernie Sings & Glen Picks' document Ford at his best! Released in 1964, 'Country Hits... Feelin' Blue' was remarkably stripped-down and unassuming. Among the musicians were two masters on their own instruments: guitarist extraordinaire Billy Strange and upright bassist John Mosher.