Nick Cave - Kicking Against the Pricks | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Kicking Against the Pricks
Artist: Nick Cave
Format: Vinyl


Label: IMT
Rel. Date: 12/16/2022
UPC: 5414939710315

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Muddy Water
2. I'm Gonna Kill That
3. Woman
4. Sleeping Annaleah
5. Long Black Veil
6. Hey Joe
7. The Singer
8. All Tomorrows Parties
9. By the Time I Get to 1
10. Phoenix 1
11. The Hammer Song 1
12. Somethings Gotten Hold of My Heart 1
13. Jesus Met the Woman at 1
14. The Well 1
15. The Carnival Is Over

More Info:

2014 180 gram vinyl LP pressing reissue. Kicking Against the Pricks' is Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds' third album, released in 1986. For this record, which consists of cover versions, the Bad Seeds line up is Cave, new drummer Thomas Wydler, Mick Harvey, Blixa Bargeld and Barry Adamson. Cave would later downplay the importance of the record but said it helped the band develop musically. Remarking on the song selection, Cave said, 'They were all done for different reasons. Basically a list of songs were made and we tried to play them. We tried songs by all sorts of people that never got on the record. Some songs were tributes, like the Tom Jones song; others, we didn't think were ever done particularly well in the first place. Some had haunted my childhood like 'The Carnival Is Over'. The strings were arranged by Mick Harvey & played by the Berliner Kaffeehausmusik Ensemble. 'The Hammer Song' is an entirely different song from the track with the same title on the 1990 Bad Seeds album 'The Good Son'. Vinyl transfer approval overseen by Mick Harvey during Summer 2014 cut at Abbey Road Studios. This edition, approved personally by Nick Cave, is finally available again on it's original format.