Jesper Thorn - Dragor | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. About Fathers and Sons
2. Boy
3. Upside Down
4. Dragor (Part 1)
5. Dragor (Part 2)
6. Asthma Breath
7. Sweeping It Under the Rug
8. About Fathers

More Info:

Jesper Thorn - Dragor / The third album by Danish bassist Jesper Thorn under his own name. Danish bassist Jesper Thorn has come to be known for his deeply personal, introspective, soul-searching sound through which he strives to untangle his innermost thoughts and conflicts. A followup to his award-winning 2020 release 'Boy', 'Dragor' dives into his complex feelings towards the town by the same name in which he grew up. The third album under his own name, it's set to release on September 29th on April Records. Rooted firmly in the Scandinavian jazz idiom, 'Dragor' is unwaveringly beautiful with a complexity and darkness to it that reflects Thorn's turbulent emotional relationship to his hometown. His stories he set to music include his strained relationship with his father, overcoming a debilitating case of asthma brought on by being born five weeks early, dealing with feeling that he didn't belong, and the deep-seated silence and guilt that came from his Catholic heritage. Thorn's new record carries forward the same lineup as his previous two bodies of work - Marc Méan on piano/electronics and Tobias Wiklund on cornet, with the new additions of Andreas Bernitt on violin and viola and April Records labelmate Cecilie Strange on tenor saxophone. Melancholic harmony and intricate songwriting provide the delicate framework through which each member of Thorn's quintet can impart their own impressions and feelings on his stories. The arrangements create space for every corner of the quintet to carry melodies, be they written or improvised, and the resulting sound is dynamic, evolving, and highly immersive. The gentle timbre of Strange's tenor, lamenting cornet melodies, soaring strings, warm synth textures, muted pianos and masterful musicianship all contribute to the realisation of Thorn's cohesive conceptual and musical vision. Jesper Thorn Double Bass, electronics Marc Méan Piano, electronics Tobias Wiklund Cornet Cecilie Strange Tenor Saxophone Andreas Bernitt Violin, viola