J Bach .S. / Mrowca - French Suites | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

Bearing in mind the special pedagogical value of suites, Bach, already a kapellmeister in Köthen, in 1722, began to write Suites pour le Clavessin into his second wife's private musical notebook, entitled Clavier-Büchlein für Anna Magdalena Bach. These were five suites, marked with BWV numbers 812-816, now known as French Suites. There is no certainty as to whether the composer intended to create a cycle of suites or whether he rather wrote them successively for the purpose of improving the harpsichord performance of the young wife. Johann Sebastian Bach would never use the very name French Suites. It first appeared only in 1762, in the notes of Friedrich Wilhelm Marpurg (1718-1795), who described the sequence of six suites as a collection under the title VI. Franz. Suiten von reel Herrn Capellm. Bach. In the second half of the 18th century, the name became common in the Berlin circle. In 1802, Johann Nicolaus Forkel (1749-1818) called the cycle French Suites, because, in his opinion, they were composed in the French style. They are performed beautifully here by Ewa Mrowca.