Supersister - Sound Of Music: The First 50 Years: 1970-2020 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Sound Of Music: The First 50 Years: 1970-2020
Artist: Supersister
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 06/12/2021
UPC: 602435492285

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. She Was Naked
2. Spiral Staircase
3. Introductions
4. Presents From Nancy
5. Dona Nobis Pacem
6. Corporating Combo Cowboys
7. Dreaming Wheelwhile
8. A Girl Named You
9. No Tree Will Grow (On Too High A Mountain)
10. Higer
11. Radio
12. Psychopath
13. Judy Goes On Holiday
14. Memories Are New
15. Dareois The Emperor
16. Bagoas
17. (Sweet Okay) Supersister - Roxane
18. (Sweet Okay) Supersister - Retroschivize (Introducing Schizo)
19. Jellybean Hop
20. Supersister - The Groupies Of The Band
21. Supersister Projekt 2019 - I Am You Are Me/Transmitter
22. Supersister Projekt 2019 - Hope To See You There Again

More Info:

Supersister was a Dutch progressive rock band and featured Robert Jan Stips (vocals/electric piano), Sacha van Geest (flute), Marco Vrolijk (drums) and Ron van Eck (bass). When Supersister first came out in 1970 they were quickly seen as one of Holland's most creative and unique bands, both amongst their fans and peers. Their original first five albums were inspired by the likes of Soft Machine, Caravan and Frank Zappa. Soft Machine's Dean Elton was even part of the band line-up in 1974. In 1970 their debut album Present From Nancy was released, which got picked up and played by British BBC dj John Peel in his influential BBC radio show. The band broke up in 1974 and reunited in it's original line up in 2000 at the request of the Progrock Festival in Los Angeles.Fans from all over the world flew to LA to see the band play live one more time. More shows were planned after this, but after only a handful of gigs band member Sasha died unexpectedly in 2001, again bringing an end to the Supersister story. In 2010 the 3 surviving members play a TV gig which makes them consider more shows yet again. And yet again, these plans are cut short when Ron van Eck passes in 2011.A TV documentary about the band's master mind Robert Jan Stips brings the remains of Supersister back together in 2019. With help from their friends Rinus Gerritsen and Cesar Zuiderwijk (Golden Earring), Henk Hofstede and Rob Kloet (Nits) and others they start writing and recording new songs, which leads to the Supersister Projekt album Repus Retsis (Supersister written backwards) and a new tour. This brand new 2LP compilation, features songs from the original 5 albums plus the 2019 album and was compiled especially for Record Store Day by the band's leader Robert Jan Stips. The artwork has been created especially for this RSD release. The Sound Of Music (1970 - 2020 The First 50 Years), is available as a limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on crystal clear (LP1) and transparent yellow (LP2) colored vinyl.