Various Artists - Impulse Records: Music, Message and the Moment [4LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Africa - By John Coltrane
2. Garvey's Ghost [Feat. Carlos "Potato" Valdez ; Carlos "Totico" Eugenio ; Abbey Lincoln] - By Max Roach
3. Hard Sock Dance - By Quincy Jones ; His Orchestra
4. Up 'Gainst the Wall - By John Coltrane
5. Just Us Blues [Feat. McCoy Tyner] - By Elvin Jones and Jimmy Garrison Sextet
6. Alabama - By John Coltrane
7. Better Get Hit in Yo' Soul - By Charles Mingus
8. Freedom Dance - By Shirley Scott Trio
9. Sister Mamie - By Yusef Lateef
10. Malcolm, Malcolm - Semper Malcolm - By Archie Shepp
11. Good Lookin' Out - By Stanley Turrentine
12. Black and Tan Fantasy - By Earl Hines
13. The Rights of All - By Oliver Nelson
14. The Creator Has a Master Plan (Edit) - By Pharoah Sanders
15. Reverend King - By John Coltrane ; Alice Coltrane
16. The Awakening - By Ahmad Jamal Trio
17. Music Is the Healing Force of the Universe - By Albert Ayler
18. We Shall Overcome - By Charlie Haden
19. Blue Nile - By Alice Coltrane
20. Astral Traveling - By Pharoah Sanders
21. Blues for Brother George Jackson - By Archie Shepp
22. Lament (Mankind) - By Michael White
23. Imani - By Dewey Redman
24. Bismillahi 'Rrahmani 'Rrahim - By Marion Brown
25. Hard Work - By John Handy

More Info:

Celebrating 60 years of Impulse Records. A Deluxe 4-LP Box Set with tracks by John Coltrane, Quincy Jones, Charles Mingus, Oliver Nelson, Pharoah Sanders, Archie Shepp and other legendary Impulse Artists. This release includes liner notes by Greg Tate and A.B. Spellman. The LP box is housed in a high-quality archival portfolio cast with a museum drop front, includes a magazine style booklet featuring original impulse! ads and artist photos, as well as an impulse! vinyl slip mat.


Orange and black. Fire and ebony. Fury and pride. Wearing its signature colors proudly and raising its exclamation point high, Impulse! Records was the go-to label for music that harnessed the searching and political stand-taking of the Sixties. Launched in 1961, Impulse grew to become an inherent part of the era’s velocity as well as its volume, pulling jazz into the age of Black Power, Afrocentricity, and Spiritual Expansion. In its balance of tradition and transition, it bridged the golden age of jazz, that brief window from the late Fifties to the Seventies when players representing every jazz era were alive and active—from Louis Armstrong to Albert Ayler, from the legends of lore to a new generation of energy players. Impulse treated all its musicians as innovators, revolutionaries even—from swing and bebop, to free and Afrofuturist.


The performances on Impulse Records: Music, Message and the Moment draw their staying power from a wide embrace of styles and sounds, as well as a tight focus on a historic moment when the promise of change was in the air and the message of racial harmony was in the music. Today that music has lost none of its relevance: the promise still deferred, the message still on time.


“...A collection celebrating Impulse’s deep-digging support of artists who scored We The People’s SingFight-ing for social political and artists’ self-determination in a critical time of beatdowns, breakthroughs and cosmically-centered aspirations.”

- Musician/Essayist Greg Tate


“In many ways, this collection is a mural in sound of the activist’s stimulation of the Sixties and Seventies…we need this scope of sound again: We need the horns to scream of stout resistance, and we need the bands to sing to us of the righteous beauty of our souls.”

- Journalist/Author A.B. Spellman