Wolfert Brederode / Matangi Quartet / Lijbaart - Ruins And Remains | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Ruins II
2. Swallow
3. Remains
4. Cloudless
5. Ruins and Remains
6. Ka
7. Ruins I
8. Duhra
9. Ruins III
10. Retrouvailles
11. Nothing for Granted
12. Dissolve
13. March
14. Ruins IV

More Info:

Ruins and Remains - a suite for piano, string quartet and percussion - was composed by Wolfert Breferode in 2018 to mark the 100th anniversary of the end of World War I. There is a vulnerable but resilient quality to the music, as it hovers over it's emotional terrain, with moods both bleak and guardedly hopeful. Highly sensitive playing by Brederode, percussionist Joost Lijbaart and the Matangi Quartet, distinguish a special album recorded in Bremen's Sendesaal and produced by Manfred Eicher.