White Lightning - Thunderbolts Of Fuzz | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Prelude to Opus IV
2. Hideaway
3. Born Too Rich
4. When a Man Could Be Free
5. 1930
6. Borrowed and Blue
7. They've Got the Time
8. Riders in the Sky
9. Fantasy Days
10. Before My Time

More Info:

Standout favorites of RidingEasy Records' Brown Acid compilation series, White Lightning's stellar discography of rare and under-appreciated heavy psych, proto-metal rock gets a vital revival for new generations to learn how swinging, swaggering and often blazingly fast rock'n'roll is done. White Lightning was formed in Minneapolis, MN in 1968 by guitarist Tom "Zippy" Caplan and bassist Woody Woodrich after leaving garage psych band The Litter (themselves popular standouts from the Nuggets and Pebbles series of garage rock rarities. ) Originally a power trio, the band later expanded to a 5-piece in 1969 while shortening it's name to Lightning. The quintet's brilliant and rare 1970 self-titled album on Pickwick International's P. I. P. imprint provides 6 of the 10 tracks on hunderbolts of Fuzz. The original White Lightning trio only released one 45-rpm single "Of Paupers and Poets" during their existence (on local Hexagon label in 1968, later reissued by major label ATCO Records in 1969. ) A long out-of-print posthumous album released in 1995 gathered unreleased recordings, 3 of which are found here. This rounds out this collection of recorded highlights from the band's rocky history. Taking their name from a particularly potent type of LSD, White Lightning laid out from the start that it was not cute and cuddly 70s rock. In fact, the band's aggressive tempos are like punk rock way before punk. However, their dirty blues groove and musical prowess shows the band was more than unrefined ne'er-do-wells, they had true versatility. Drummer/lead vocalist Mick Stanhope later relinquished his drum throne to take center stage as lead singer of the expanded lineup. Hroughout it's initial 1968-1974 run, the band had 10 different lineups, with Caplan, Woodrich and Stanhope the most consistent members - though the band points out that no one member has played in all 11 incarnations of the group. Album opener "Prelude to Opus IV" is a wailing rocker with blazing double-kick drum, sizzling melodic riffs and Jim Dandy howls jam packed into an epic 4 minutes that serves enough testament to the band's greatness, nothing more need be heard or said. However, the would-be hits keep coming as the Led Zeppelin meets Black Oak Arkansas thwack of "Hideaway" and "Born Too Rich" come screaming out of the speakers. "When A Man Could Be Free" shows the band could also reign in the fury, at least a little bit, for a warm Southern rock style ballad. Borrowed and Blue" echoes the stately poetry of Electric Ladyland-era Hendrix with a dash of The Who's rollicking psychedelia. "1930" is, quite simply, insane. Searing twin guitars with incredible fuzz-drenched tone, a warm and buzzing bass line bounce atop drummer Bernie Pershey's unrelenting bass drum triplets while Stanhope ravages his lungs with soulful abandon. The album closes with the aptly titled "Before My Time" a barnstorming boogie rock instrumental the proves the band vanished long before receiving their due.