Deathchant - Thrones | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Deathchant - Thrones
Artist: Deathchant
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 11/10/2023
UPC: 603111760629

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Canyon
3. Track 3
4. Thrones
5. Track 5
6. Mirror
7. Track 7
8. Mother Mary
9. Track 9
10. Chariot
11. Track 11
12. Hoax
13. Track 13
14. Earth
15. Track 15
16. Tomb

More Info:

This is definitely the most honest and mature record Deathchant has ever made."That's Deathchant vocalist and guitarist T.J. Lemieux talking about the band's third and latest album, Thrones. Think of it as not just the follow-up to 2021's Waste, but the other side of the coin. "While Waste and our self-titled album touched on similar themes, they were sort of from a problem standpoint," he explains. "Thrones is full of reflection, self-realization, and solutions for moving forward and conquering those problems."Which isn't to say that Deathchant have gone soft. Far from it, dude. In fact, Thrones just might be their heaviest record thus far. The band's seamless swirl of classic rock guitar harmonies, syrupy sludge, blues boogie and psych bombast has reached a thrilling new apex as Lemieux spins high-powered tales of reckoning from beyond the wall of sanity.Thematically, Lemieux and his bandmates-bassist George Camacho, guitarist Doug Stuckey and drummer Joe Herzog-peel back the veneer of self-delusion to expose the fork in the road. "Thrones is meant to represent things that rule you, things you worship, things you rely on or think you need," Lemieux says. "Sometimes those things make you feel in control, safe, on top of the world like you're in power-which over time often proves untrue." Thrones was recorded live in a cabin in the remote mountain community of Frazier Park, CA, with trusty engineer Steve Schroeder (a.k.a. Schroeds). "We moved in for a week, rehearsed a bit and went for it," Lemieux says. "Each tune got three or so takes, but we nailed 'Mother Mary' and 'Canyon' right away." Overdubs were done at the cabin, Schroeder's Studio 3, and Lemieux's place. The album was produced by Lemieux and Schroeder."Overall, it's a pretty dark record," Lemieux says. "It's serious and leans into heavy themes, sometimes using metaphor and imagery to soften those blows, but sometimes it hits direct. It's positive, though-and cathartic. Forever riding on the line of total insanity and flirting with mental degradation. It's our most realized and ambitious record to date.