Joni Mitchell - The Asylum Albums 19721975 [4CD] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

The Asylum Albums 19721975 [4CD]
Artist: Joni Mitchell
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/23/2022
UPC: 603497840960

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Banquet (2022 Remaster)
2. Cold Blue Steel And Sweet Fire (2022 Remaster)
3. Barangrill (2022 Remaster)
4. Lesson In Survival (2022 Remaster)
5. Let The Wind Carry Me (2022 Remaster)
6. For The Roses (2022 Remaster)
7. See You Sometime (2022 Remaster)
8. Electricity (2022 Remaster)
9. You Turn Me On I'm A Radio (2022 Remaster)
10. Blonde In The Bleachers (2022 Remaster)
11. Woman Of Heart And Mind (2022 Remaster)
12. Judgement Of The Moon And Stars (Ludwig's Tune) [2022 Remaster]


1. Court And Spark (2022 Remaster)
2. Help Me (2022 Remaster)
3. Free Man In Paris (2022 Remaster)
4. People's Parties (2022 Remaster)
5. Same Situation (2022 Remaster)
6. Car On A Hill (2022 Remaster)
7. Down To You (2022 Remaster)
8. Just Like This Train (2022 Remaster)
9. Raised On Robbery (2022 Remaster)
10. Trouble Child (2022 Remaster)
11. Twisted (2022 Remaster)


1. You Turn Me On I'm A Radio (Live) [2022 Remaster]
2. Big Yellow Taxi (Live) [2022 Remaster]
3. Rainy Night House (Live) [2022 Remaster]
4. Woodstock (Live) [2022 Remaster]
5. Cactus Tree (Live) [2022 Remaster]
6. Cold Blue Steel And Sweet Fire (Live) [2022 Remaster]
7. Woman Of Heart And Mind (Live) [2022 Remaster]
8. A Case Of You (Live) [2022 Remaster]
9. Blue (Live) [2022 Remaster]
10. Circle Game (Live) [2022 Remaster]
11. People's Parties (Live) [2022 Remaster]
12. All I Want (Live) [2022 Remaster]
13. Real Good For Free (Live) [2022 Remaster]
14. Both Sides Now (Live) [2022 Remaster]
15. Carey (Live) [2022 Remaster]
16. The Last Time I Saw Richard (Live) [2022 Remaster]
17. Jericho (Live) [2022 Remaster]
18. Love Or Money (Live) [2022 Remaster]


1. In France They Kiss On Main Street (2022 Remaster)
2. The Jungle Line (2022 Remaster)
3. Edith And The Kingpin (2022 Remaster)
4. Don't Interrupt The Sorrow (2022 Remaster)
5. Shades Of Scarlett Conquering (2022 Remaster)
6. The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (2022 Remaster)
7. The Boho Dance (2022 Remaster)
8. Harry's House/Centerpiece (2022 Remaster)
9. Sweet Bird (2022 Remaster)
10. Shadows And Light (2022 Remaster)

More Info:

Joni Mitchell was at a turning point 50 years ago. After making four acclaimed albums with Reprise Records, including her 1971 masterpiece Blue, she left the label to join the brand-new Asylum Records in 1972. Over the next seven years, Mitchell would record some of the most acclaimed music of her career while changing her musical direction by adding more jazz elements into her songwriting. The evolution culminated in 1979 with Mingus, her collaboration with jazz titan Charles Mingus, and her studio last album for Asylum.

Explore the beginning of that prolific era with THE ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975), the next installment in the Joni Mitchell Archives series. The collection features newly remastered versions of FOR THE ROSES (1972), COURT AND SPARK (1974), the double live album MILES OF AISLES (1974), and THE HISSING OF SUMMER LAWNS (1975). All four were recently remastered by Bernie Grundman.

The cover art for THE ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975) features a previously unseen painting by Mitchell. The set also includes an essay by friend and fellow Canadian Neil Young. He writes: "Joni's music is so deep and transporting. She comes right from the source. There is no mistaking it.For The Roses, Court And Spark, Miles Of Aisles, and The Hissing Of Summer Lawns.are all classics in my book. I listened to every album as it came out. The musicians she played with were always above my abilities. She had grown from folk to jazz and in between, creating a unique kind of sound that I loved to listen to over and over."


THE ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975) follows Mitchell's musical evolution over four albums as she embraced more jazz-inspired pieces and moved away from the folk and pop of her early years. It includes essential tracks like her first Top 40 hit, "You Turn Me On, I'm A Radio" and her highest-charting (#7) single "Help Me," plus favorites like "Free Man In Paris," "Raised On Robbery" and "In France They Kiss On Main Street."


FOR THE ROSES, which was released 50 years ago this November, was certified gold and added to the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry in 2007. Court And Spark topped the U.S. album chart and was certified double platinum, making it the best-selling album of Mitchell's career. It was nominated for multiple GrammyO Awards, including Album of the Year, and won Best Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist for "Down To You."


MILES OF AISLES is a double live album that spotlights the tour for Court And Spark. It reached #2 on the album chart and was certified gold. The Hissing Of Summer Lawns was certified gold as well, peaking at #4 on the album chart and earning a Grammy? Award nomination for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.

The ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975) [4CD]