Joni Mitchell - Asylum Albums (1972-1975) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Asylum Albums (1972-1975)
Artist: Joni Mitchell
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 09/23/2022
UPC: 603497841356

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. * for the Roses (1972)
2. Banquet
3. Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire
4. Barangrill
5. Lesson in Survival
6. Let the Wind Carry Me
7. For the Roses
8. See You Sometime
9. Electricity
10. You Turn Me on I'm a Radio
11. Blonde in the Bleachers
12. Woman of Heart and Mind
13. Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig's Tune)
14. * Court and Spark (1974)
15. Court and Spark
16. Help Me
17. Free Man in Paris
18. People's Parties
19. Same Situation
20. Car on a Hill
21. Down to You
22. Just Like This Train
23. Raised on Robbery
24. Trouble Child
25. Twisted
26. * Miles of Aisles (1974)
27. You Turn Me on I'm a Radio
28. Big Yellow Taxi
29. Rainy Night House
30. Woodstock
31. Cactus Tree
32. Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire
33. Woman of Heart and Mind
34. A Case of You
35. Blue
36. Circle Game
37. People's Parties
38. All I Want
39. Real Good for Free
40. Both Sides Now
41. Carey
42. The Last Time I Saw Richard
43. Jericho
44. Love or Money
45. * the Hissing of Summer Lawns (1975)
46. In France They Kiss on Main Street
47. The Jungle Line
48. Edith and the Kingpin
49. Don't Interrupt the Sorrow
50. Shades of Scarlett Conquering
51. The Hissing of Summer Lawns
52. The Boho Dance
53. Harry's House/Centerpiece
54. Sweet Bird
55. Shadows and Light

More Info:

Joni Mitchell was at a turning point 50 years ago. After making four acclaimed albums with Reprise Records, including her 1971 masterpiece Blue, she left the label to join the brand-new Asylum Records in 1972. Over the next seven years, Mitchell would record some of the most acclaimed music of her career while changing her musical direction by adding more jazz elements into her songwriting. The evolution culminated in 1979 with Mingus, her collaboration with jazz titan Charles Mingus, and her studio last album for Asylum.

Explore the beginning of that prolific era with THE ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975), the next installment in the Joni Mitchell Archives series. The collection features newly remastered versions of FOR THE ROSES (1972), COURT AND SPARK (1974), the double live album MILES OF AISLES (1974), and THE HISSING OF SUMMER LAWNS (1975). All four were recently remastered by Bernie Grundman.

The cover art for THE ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975) features a previously unseen painting by Mitchell. The set also includes an essay by friend and fellow Canadian Neil Young. He writes: Joni's music is so deep and transporting. She comes right from the source. There is no mistaking it.For The Roses, Court And Spark, Miles Of Aisles, and The Hissing Of Summer Lawns.are all classics in my book. I listened to every album as it came out. The musicians she played with were always above my abilities. She had grown from folk to jazz and in between, creating a unique kind of sound that I loved to listen to over and over.


THE ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975) follows Mitchell's musical evolution over four albums as she embraced more jazz-inspired pieces and moved away from the folk and pop of her early years. It includes essential tracks like her first Top 40 hit, You Turn Me On, I'm A Radio and her highest-charting (#7) single Help Me, plus favorites like Free Man In Paris, Raised On Robbery and In France They Kiss On Main Street.


FOR THE ROSES, which was released 50 years ago this November, was certified gold and added to the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry in 2007. Court And Spark topped the U.S. album chart and was certified double platinum, making it the best-selling album of Mitchell's career. It was nominated for multiple GrammyO Awards, including Album of the Year, and won Best Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist for Down To You.


MILES OF AISLES is a double live album that spotlights the tour for Court And Spark. It reached #2 on the album chart and was certified gold. The Hissing Of Summer Lawns was certified gold as well, peaking at #4 on the album chart and earning a Grammy? Award nomination for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.

The ASYLUM ALBUMS (1972-1975)