The Replacements - Pleased To Meet Me [Deluxe Edition Box Set] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. I.O.U. (2020 Remaster)
2. Alex Chilton (2020 Remaster)
3. I Don't Know (2020 Remaster)
4. Nightclub Jitters (2020 Remaster)
5. The Ledge (2020 Remaster)
6. Never Mind (2020 Remaster)
7. Valentine (2020 Remaster)
8. Shooting Dirty Pool (2020 Remaster)
9. Red Red Wine (2020 Remaster)
10. Skyway (2020 Remaster)
11. Can't Hardly Wait (2020 Remaster)
12. Election Day (2020 Remaster)
13. Jungle Rock (2020 Remaster)
14. Route 66 (2020 Remaster)
15. Tossin' n' Turnin' (2020 Remaster)
16. Cool Water (2020 Remaster)
17. Can't Hardly Wait (Jimmy Iovine Remix) [2020 Remaster]


1. Bundle Up (Demo)
2. Birthday Gal (Demo)
3. I.O.U. (Demo)
4. Red Red Wine (Demo)
5. Photo (Demo)
6. Time Is Killing Us (Demo)
7. Valentine (Demo)
8. Awake Tonight (Demo)
9. Hey Shadow (Demo)
10. I Don't Know (Demo)
11. Kick It In (Demo 1)
12. Shooting Dirty Pool (Demo)
13. Kick It In (Demo 2)
14. All He Wants to Do Is Fish (Demo)
15. Even If It's Cheap (Demo)


1. Valentine (Rough Mix)
2. Never Mind (Rough Mix)
3. Birthday Gal (Rough Mix)
4. Alex Chilton (Rough Mix)
5. Election Day (Rough Mix)
6. Kick It In (Rough Mix)
7. Red Red Wine (Rough Mix)
8. The Ledge (Rough Mix)
9. I.O.U. (Rough Mix)
10. Can't Hardly Wait (Rough Mix)
11. Nightclub Jitters (Rough Mix)
12. Skyway (Rough Mix)
13. Cool Water (Rough Mix)
14. Birthday Gal (2020 Remaster)
15. Learn How to Fail
16. Run for the Country
17. All He Wants to Do Is Fish (2020 Remaster)
18. I Can Help (Studio Outtake)
19. Lift Your Skirt
20. Till We're Nude (2020 Remaster)
21. Beer for Breakfast (2020 Remaster)
22. Trouble on the Way
23. I Don't Know (Out Take) [2020 Remaster]


1. Valentine (Rough Mix)
2. Never Mind (Rough Mix)
3. I.O.U. (Rough Mix)
4. Can't Hardly Wait (Rough Mix)
5. Election Day (Rough Mix)
6. Kick It In (Rough Mix)
7. Cool Water (Rough Mix)

More Info:

Pleased To Meet Me is the critically acclaimed fifth studio album by the American rock band The Replacements. Released in 1987 by Sire Records, Pleased To Meet Me is the only album recorded by the band as a trio, after original guitarist Bob Stinson acrimoniously left the band. Following last year’s widely acclaimed Dead Man’s Pop release, Pleased To Meet Me will be receiving a similar ‘deep dive’ treatment with a 3-CD/1-LP deluxe boxed set, which will tell the story of the album in ways not previously possible with more than 50% of the content previously unreleased.


  • New remaster of the original album by Justin Perkins, who was also behind the boards for our Dead Man’s Pop regimaging
  • 1986 demo session with Bob Stinson – his last recorded Replacements performance, with his guitar tracks reinstated for the first time
  • Additional 1986 demos with the band as a three-piece outfit (sans Bob)
  • Previously unreleased rough mix of the album with alternate track listing
  • Studio outtakes from the album recording sessions (Memphis, 1987)
  • Rare single mixes

The making of Pleased To Meet Me was a transformative journey for The Replacements, one that began with the combustible Minneapolis combo on the brink of collapse and culminated in one of the definitive albums of the band’s career. That transformation is chronicled in-depth on the group’s latest boxed set, PLEASED TO MEET ME (DELUXE EDITION).

More than half of the music (29 tracks) on this Deluxe Edition set has never been released, including demos, rough mixes, and outtakes as well as Bob Stinson’s last recordings with The Replacements from 1986.

The music is presented in a 12 x 12 hardcover book loaded with dozens of rarely seen photos along with a detailed history of the Pleased To Meet Me era written by Bob Mehr, who authored The New York Times bestseller, Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements

Pleased To Meet Me was recorded over three months at Ardent Studios in Memphis with legendary producer Jim Dickinson before it debuted in June 1987. The collection opens with a newly remastered version of the original 11-track album along with a selection of B-sides and a version of “Can’t Hardly Wait” that was remixed by Jimmy Iovine. All of the music included in this boxed set has been remastered by Justin Perkins, who remastered the band’s widely acclaimed 2019 boxed set, Dead Man’s Pop.

The second disc explores the creative process behind Pleased To Meet Me with 15 demos, 11 of which are unreleased, that were recorded at Blackberry Way Studios in Minneapolis during the summer of 1986. The first seven of these demos represent the last recordings made by all four original members of The Replacements. After those demo sessions stalled out, singer/guitarist Westerberg, bassist Tommy Stinson, and drummer Chris Mars made the painful decision to part ways with lead guitarist Stinson after recording five albums together.

The disc’s remaining eight demos feature the band as a trio and include “Shooting Dirty Pool,” two versions of “Kick It In,” and “Even If It’s Cheap,” whose opening line (“Pleased to meet me/the pleasure’s all yours”) would ultimately inspire the title of the album.

The collection’s final disc features 13 previously unreleased rough mixes by studio engineer John Hampton that include the majority of the album along with non-album tracks like “Election Day” and “Birthday Gal.” These rough mixes are also featured on the 180-gram vinyl record included in the set.

Rounding out the collection are several unreleased tracks (Westerberg’s “Run For The Country” and “Learn How To Fail,” Stinson’s “Trouble On The Way”) along with a selection of outtakes (“Beer For Breakfast” and “I Don’t Know”) that debuted on the 1997 compilation, All For Nothing/Nothing For All.

Deluxe Box Set