Various Artists - Sugar Hill Records: The 12" D.J. Boxset [RSD 2019] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Sugar Hill Records: The 12" D.J. Boxset [RSD 2019]
Artist: Various Artists
Format: Vinyl


Label: RHINO
Rel. Date: 04/13/2019
UPC: 603497854141

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Step Off (Feat. Cowboy, Melle Mel ; Scorpio) - By the Furious Five
2. Funk You Up (Long Version) - By the Sequence
3. The Message (12" Single Version) [Feat. Melle Mel ; Duke Bootee] - By Grandmaster Flash ; the Furious Five Feat. Melle Mel ; Duk
4. It's Nasty (Genius of Love) [Single Version] - By Grandmaster Flash ; the Furious Five
5. New York New York - By Grandmaster Flash ; the Furious 5
6. Beat Street (Single) - By Grandmaster Flash, Melle Mel ; the Furious 5
7. That's the Joint - By Funky 4+1
8. We Got the Funk (12" Mix) - By Positive Force
9. White Lines - By Grandmaster Flash ; the Furious Five
10. Rapper's Delight (Long Version) - By the Sugarhill Gang
11. Monster Jam - By Spoonie Gee ; the Sequence
12. Pump Me Up - By Grandmaster ; Melle Mel ; the Furious Five ^1
13. 8th Wonder - By the Sugarhill Gang ^1
14. The Adventures of Grandmaster Flash on the Wheel of Steel - By Grandmaster Flash ; the Furious Five ^1
15. Break Dance-Electric Boogie (Single) - By West Street Mob ^1
16. Scorpio - By Grandmaster Flash ; the Furious Five ^1
17. Apache (Single) - By the Sugarhill Gang ^1
18. Message II (Survival) - By Melle Mel ; Duke Bootee

More Info:

Sugar Hill Records was the birthplace label for hip hop. It gave listeners their first exposure to urban rhyming and scratching that transformed pop music during the ‘80s. Many of the 12” singles and vinyl versions of their classics have been out of print for years, missing the rise of hip hop during the 80’s and 90’s. This 12” boxset will not only be a must have for the listeners who grew up on the music, but for the DJ’s to be able to go back to the beginning and mix each strategically placed single into their own vinyl DJ set . This 6 Disc Vinyl 12” Boxed set will incorporate all of the label’s classic A-sides - many in their full length mixes. We will have a small summary of the label and how it changed hip hop as liners and the boxed set will be packaged in a beautiful Sugar Hill Records slip case that pays tribute to the old school “feel” of the generation. In addition to the vinyl boxed set, we will be offering a special “DJ” version for digital download that will be a 1 hour and 17 minute non-stop “party mix” using each of the tracks, in their respectable order, with no breaks so it can be played at any party from start to finish, giving the party a DJ without an actual DJ present! Limited to 2000 copies worldwide