Glenn Yarbrough - Early Solo Collection (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Early Solo Collection (Uk)
Artist: Glenn Yarbrough
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/19/2022
UPC: 604988088823

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Follow the Drinking Gourd
2. Waltzing Matilda
3. Red River Valley
4. All Round My Hat
5. My Mule Sal
6. Poor Boy
7. Come Again
8. Capitol Ship
9. Dark As a Dungeon
10. The Tailor and the Mouse
11. Banks of the Ohio
12. John Hardy
13. Suspiros Del Chanchamayo
14. Old Maids Song
15. Lonesome Valley
16. Rich Gal, Poor Gal
17. Spanish Is a Loving Tongue
18. Hey, Jim Along
19. Johnny I Hardly Knew You
20. All My Sorrows
21. Hard Ain't It Hard
22. All Through the Night
23. Here We Go, Baby
24. Turtle Dove
25. Goodbye My Lover
26. One More River
27. Sailor's Grave
28. Wasn't That a Mighty Day
29. House of the Rising Sun
30. This Land Is Your Land
31. We Come for to Sing
32. Wee Cooper O'Fife
33. Lilli-I-O
34. Bound for the Promised Land
35. Weel Man the Keel Row
36. Wayfaring Stranger
37. Nickety Nack
38. Three Jolly Sailor Boys
39. Gently Johnny, My Jingalo
40. Mary Had a Baby
41. New York Girls
42. Red River Valley
43. An Irish Fragment
44. Buffalo Boy
45. Who Killed Cock Robin
46. Now, Let Me Fly
47. Everywhere I Look This Morning

More Info:

Before forming The Limeliters in July 1959, GLENN YARBROUGH - "the tenor with the golden voice" - had pursued an impressive solo career, which stretched back to the early 50s. This compilation features his unfeasibly rare 78rpm debut single, 'Follow The Drinking Gourd' (1951), appearing here for the first time in the digital format, alongside his three pre-Limeliters albums. "Come And Sit By My Side" (also known as "Here We Go Baby!") appeared in 1957 on Tradition, the specialist Folk label founded and financed by Guggenheim heiress Diane Hamilton. "Songs By Glenn Yarbrough" (also 1957) appeared on Jac Holzman's Elektra label. "Glenn Yarbrough & Marilyn Child Sing Folk Songs", an LP shared with fellow-folkie Marilyn Child, appeared on Elektra in 1958. This is the first time that this body of work has been compiled, and the informative original liner notes to all three LPs are included in the booklet.