Art Quintet Van Damme - Cocktail Capers / More Cocktail Capers | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Cocktail Capers / More Cocktail Capers
Artist: Art Quintet Van Damme
Format: CD


Label: JSMR
Rel. Date: 01/22/2021
UPC: 604988271423

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Dark Eyes
2. I've Got You Under My Skin
3. Meadowland
4. If I Had You
5. I Know That You Know
6. The Breeze and I
7. Lover
8. The Man I Love
9. A Foggy Day
10. After You've Gone
11. Bach Meets El Mambo
12. The Continental
13. I Want to Be Happy
14. Pavanne
15. Rachel's Dream
16. Should I
17. This Can't Be Love
18. Limehouse Blues
19. Fine and Dandy
20. Perdido
21. Habanera
22. Linger Awhile
23. The Touch of Your Lips
24. Hawaiian War Chant (Tu-Hu-Wa-Hu-Wai)
25. I Get a Kick Out of You
26. There Will Never Be Another You
27. The Cricket
28. Just One of Those Things
29. Ecstasy
30. Taking a Chance on Love

More Info:

Once described as "The hippest cat ever to swing an accordion", ART VAN DAMME achieved the near impossible by getting the Jazz firmament to accept the accordion as a serious musical instrument. Having got his recording career under way in the United States in the 1940s, in the 78rpm shellac era, he later enjoyed great popularity in Japan and Central Europe. This compilation is based upon his first two LPs, Cocktail Capers (1950) and More Cocktail Capers (1952), plus the various bonus tracks which were added when both albums were expanded from 10" to the 12" format in 1954. Also included is a further 10" LP from 1956, usually known as either The Art Van Damme Quintet or House Party. It probably goes without saying that this body of work is almost impossible to find elsewhere on CD, notably the latter album, which has never previously been reissued in any format.