Marion Ryan - Godmother Of Britpop (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Godmother Of Britpop (Uk)
Artist: Marion Ryan
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 07/15/2022
UPC: 604988274127

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. All's Going Well (My Lady Montmorency) (With Ray Ellington)
2. Hard to Get
3. Cry Me a River
4. Hot Diggity
5. Why Do Fools Fall in Love
6. Two Innocent Hearts
7. The Miracle of Love
8. Mr. Wonderful
9. That's Happiness
10. Ding Dong Rockabilly Wedding
11. Love Me Forever
12. Uh Oh, I'm Falling in Love Again
13. Always and Forever
14. Stairway of Love
15. I Need You
16. A Couple of Crazy Kids (With Gary Miller)
17. The World Goes Around and Around
18. Please Don't Say Goodnight
19. Wait for Me
20. Jo-Jo the Dog Faced Boy
21. I'm Beginning to See the Light
22. Heat Wave
23. Too Much
24. Promise Me
25. Sixteen Reasons
26. Mangos
27. It's You That I Love
28. Somebody
29. A Thousand Blue Bubbles
30. I Wish You Love
31. No Love But Your Love
32. An Occasional Man

More Info:

Once described as "The Marilyn Monroe of popular song", the diminutive Marion Ryan (she stood just 5' tall) emerged from Ray Ellington's band to establish herself as one of the most popular female singers of the 50s. Commercial television was new to the UK at that time and Marion was among the first of a new generation of entertainers who established themselves first and foremost as TV stars. She recorded for Pye Records in the 50s, before switching to EMI's Columbia label in 1960. This compilation presents the "Very Best" of her output between 1954-62, starting off with her first ever appearance on record, with Ray Ellington. Included are her hits and well known numbers, like 'Love Me Forever', 'Uh Oh, I'm Falling In Love Again', 'Stairway Of Love', 'Sixteen Reasons' and 'It's You That I Love'. This is the first time Marion's recorded output has been thus anthologised.