Chas Mcdevitt Skiffle Group - Featuring Nancy Whiskey & Shirley Douglas (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Freight Train
2. Cotton Song
3. It Takes a Worried Man (To Sing a Worried Song)
4. The House of the Rising Sun (New Orleans)
5. Green Back Dollar
6. I'm Satisfied
7. Face in the Rain
8. Sporting Life
9. Poor Howard
10. The Fireman's Not for Me
11. The Riddle Song
12. Bad Man Stack-O-Lee Version 1
13. Farewell
14. Every Day of the Week
15. My Old Man
16. Sing, Sing, Sing
17. Johnny-O
18. Bad Man Stack-O-Lee Version 2
19. Across the Bridge
20. Deep Down
21. Real Love
22. Juke Box Jumble
23. Teenage Letter
24. Sad Little Girl
25. The Cranes Skiffle Group - Don't You Rock Me Daddy-O
26. The Cranes Skiffle Group - Banana Boat Song
27. The Cranes Skiffle Group - Freight Train
28. The Cranes Skiffle Group - Cumberland Gap
29. Nancy Whiskey - He's Solid Gone
30. Nancy Whiskey - Ella Speed
31. Nancy Whiskey - the Old Grey Goose

More Info:

CHAS McDEVITT'S SKIFFLE GROUP joined forces with Scottish Folk singer NANCY WHISKEY in January 1957 to record 'Freight Train', a record which went on to become one of Skiffle's biggest hits, making the UK Top 5 and the US Top 40. It sold well over a million copies, winning Skiffle a second Gold disc (at that stage, only Lonnie D's 'Rock Island Line' had gone Gold) Although they only chalked up one other UK chart entry, 'Green Back Dollar', Chas's Group laid down a memorable body of recorded work, which has been in demand among collectors over the subsequent decades. This compilation pulls together everything they recorded between 1956 and 1959, including "The Intoxicating Miss Whiskey" LP, plus sides recorded with SHIRLEY DOUGLAS following Nancy's departure. The seven bonus track 'rarities' include two singles they recorded under a pseudonym, plus a trio of Nancy Whiskey solo sides