Ruth Welcome - First Lady Of Zither (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

First Lady Of Zither (Uk)
Artist: Ruth Welcome
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 11/17/2023
UPC: 604988280029

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Happy Dancing Rose
2. Greensleeves
3. Two Little Stars
4. Deep Down in the Valley
5. Barbara Allen
6. River Seine
7. September Song
8. Theme from "The Third Man"
9. Does Your Heart Beat for Me
10. Charmaine
11. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
12. Hi-Lili Hi-Lo
13. Fascination
14. There Goes My Heart
15. The Three Bells
16. My Melancholy Baby
17. Song from Moulin Rouge ("Where Is Your Heart")
18. Stardust
19. Arrivederci Roma
20. Under Paris Skies
21. My Heart Is a Violin ("Mon Couer Est Un Violin")
22. Anema E Core
23. Domino
24. A Little Café Down the Street
25. Guaglione
26. J'attendrai
27. Ja Ja Der Wein Ist Gut
28. Live, Laugh and Love
29. Non Dimenticar
30. Im Prater Bluh'n Wieder Die Baume

More Info:

During a thirty-year career as America's only professional zither-player, German-born Ruth Welcome recorded extensively for Capitol Records, cutting eighteen LPs. Her repertoire consisted primarily of standards and show tunes, played in a style that would come to be known as "Mood Music" or "Easy Listening" and her albums would enjoy a huge surge of popularity during the late 90s "Easy" revival, and among the "Space Age" and "Bachelor Pad" niche markets. Long before signing for Capitol, in 1958, she'd contributed to an obscure, 10" LP, "Café Continental", in 1950. This compilation comprises her seven tracks from "Café Continental", plus her first two Capitol albums, "Hi-Fi Zither" (1958, which would later be reissued as "Third Man Theme And Other Zither Hits") and "At A Sidewalk Café" (1959), the latter recorded with The Milt Shaw Trio. This material is devilishly difficult to find elsewhere, on CD.