Bobby Marchan - This Is The Life: New Orleans Rock & Soul 1954-62 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

This Is The Life: New Orleans Rock & Soul 1954-62
Artist: Bobby Marchan
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/28/2022
UPC: 604988321227

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Bobby Fields
2. Give a Helping Hand
3. Pity Poor Me
4. Little Girl of Mine
5. Chickee Wah-Wah
6. Don't Take Your Love from Me
7. I Know
8. I'll Never Let You Go
9. I Can't Stop Loving You
10. You Can't Stop Her
11. Rockin Behind the Iron Curtain
12. Oh Me Oh My
13. Hush Your Mouth
14. Snoopin' and Accusin'
15. This Is the Life
16. There's Something on Your Mind Part 1
17. There's Something on Your Mind Part 2
18. It Hurts Me to My Heart
19. You're Still My Baby Part 1
20. You're Still My Baby Part 2
21. All in My Mind
22. I Miss You So
23. What You Don't Know Don't Hurt You
24. I Need Someone (I Need You)
25. Things I Used to Do (Pt. 1)
26. Things I Used to Do (Pt. 2)
27. Yes, It's Written All Over Your Face
28. Look at My Heart

More Info:

The flamboyant, ultra-extraordinary Bobby Marchan (born Oscar James Gibson) was an outstanding R&B/Soul?singer, songwriter, bandleader, MC and female impersonator, who enjoyed successes both solo and as the occasional singer with Huey "Piano" Smith & The Clowns. This compilation is drawn from Marchan's solo recordings for Johnny Vincent's Ace and Bobby Robinson's Fire labels between 1954-62, and feature some of the earliest examples of Soul music on record, most notably his dramatic 1960 R&B #1 'There's Something On Your Mind (parts 1 & 2)'. His first Ace 45rpm 'Give A Helping Hand'/'Pity Poor Me' (1954), included herein, was issued as Bobby Fields, as he was signed to another label at the time. Other collectables in this set include 'Chickee Wah-Wah', 'I'll Never Let You Go', 'You Can't Stop Her', 'You're Still My Baby' and 'Things I Used To Do'. This is the first time that this remarkable, Soul-drenched body of work has been thus compiled.