Henry Gray - In Session: 1952-1961 - I'm A Lucky Lucky Man (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

In Session: 1952-1961 - I'm A Lucky Lucky Man (Uk)
Artist: Henry Gray
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/20/2023
UPC: 604988324129

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Mistreated Baby
2. The Last Time
3. Tired of Crying Over You
4. I Declare That Ain't Right (Take 2)
5. I Declare That Ain't Right (Take 4)
6. Matchbox Blues
7. Can't Get Along
8. It'll Plumb Get It
9. Who Will Be Next
10. I Have a Little Girl
11. Hurt My Feelings
12. She Don't Want Me No More
13. Come on Baby
14. I Don't Go for That
15. Here's My Picture
16. You've Got Me Wrong
17. He Don't Love You
18. Hurry Home
19. Watch Yourself
20. That Ain't Right
21. Goodbye Baby
22. You Messed Up
23. Look Out Mable
24. Did You Ever Love Somebody (That Didn't Love You)
25. You'll Be Mine
26. Just Like I Treat You
27. Going Down Slow

More Info:

Where would the Chicago blues scene have been without Henry Gray as mainstay on piano for most of the big stars, names such as Jimmy Rogers, Howlin' Wolf, Jimmy Reed and Billy Boy Arnold. This CD presents Henry Gray in another of our "In Session" series not only with some of these big names but sessions recorded under his own name but never issued at the time. His first session was in 1952 with Jimmy Rogers and later that year with Morris Pejoe, both sessions for Chess. In the studio in 1955 with Howlin' Wolf produced the minor hit "Who Will Be Next". Jimmy Reed rarely used piano on his Vee Jay recordings but three from one session has Gray pounding away in the back ground. Henry "pops" up in the middle of Billy Boy's "Here's My Picture" to take an amazing solo. A switch to Parrot records with Dusty Brown then a session on Blue Lake under his own name before the classic G. "Davy" Crockett track "Look out Mable" revered by rock & rollers to this day. Finally we have three more from 1961 with Howlin' Wolf including the iconic "Going Down Slow" enhanced with vocal interjections from Willie Dixon. This release presents the best of Chicago blues in it's heyday with the one of the most talented pianists around at that time