Varetta Dillard - Essential Varetta Dillard: Easy Easy Baby (Uk) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Essential Varetta Dillard: Easy Easy Baby (Uk)
Artist: Varetta Dillard
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/19/2024
UPC: 604988328127

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Please Come Back to Me
2. Hurry Up
3. Easy, Easy Baby
4. A Letter in Blues
5. Here in My Heart
6. Them There Eyes
7. Double Crossing Daddy (With H-Bomb Ferguson)
8. Tortured Love (H-Bomb Ferguson, Featuring Varetta Dillard)
9. I Cried and Cried
10. Double Crossing Daddy
11. Three Lies
12. Mercy Mr Percy
13. I Love You
14. I Ain't Gonna Tell
15. Send Me Some Money
16. Love
17. Johnny Has Gone
18. You're the Answer to My Prayer (With the Roamers)
19. Promise Mr Thomas
20. I'll Never Forget You
21. I Can't Stop Now
22. Mama Don't Want (What Poppa Don't Want)
23. Darling, Listen to the Words of This Song (With the 4 Students)
24. I'm Gonna Tell My Daddy (With the 4 Students)
25. That Old Feeling (With the 4 Students)
26. See See Rider Blues
27. Got You on My Mind
28. I Miss You Jimmy
29. If You Want to Be My Baby
30. One More Time (With the Nitecaps)
31. Pray for Me Mother
32. Leave a Happy Fool Alone
33. Give Me the Right
34. Time Was
35. I Got a Lot of Love
36. Undecided
37. That's Why I Cry
38. Star of Fortune (With the Cookies)
39. The Rules of Love (With the Cookies)
40. Falling (With the Cookies)
41. Old Fashioned (With the Cookies)
42. What'll I Do
43. Just Multiply
44. Honey
45. The Square Dance Rock
46. Good Gravy Baby
47. Scorched
48. (Twee-Twee-Twee) the Lovin' Bird
49. Good to Me
50. Teaser
51. You Don't Know What You're Missing
52. A Little Bitty Tear
53. Mercy Mr Percy (Re-Recording)
54. What Can I Say
55. You Better Come Home
56. I Don't Know What It Is But I Like It
57. Whole Lot of Lip
58. You Ain't Foolin' Nobody
59. Say What? (The Cyclones Featuring Eddie Jones)
60. Breaking Hearts (Varetta ; the Thomases)
61. Fly By Night (Varetta ; the Thomases)

More Info:

Rated by many pundits as the equal of singers like Dinah Washington, LaVern Baker, and Ruth Brown, Varetta Dillard was blessed with a powerful, versatile voice, and her recorded legacy remains seriously impressive. But the downside was that she was physically handicapped, which seriously compromised her career, most notably with regard to live performances. And although Varetta registered a trio of Top 10 R&B hits during the early 50s, she failed to achieve significant Pop success, and has largely remained a cult figure, little known outside of collectors' circles. Her recording career spanned eleven years, between 1951-62, during which she released thirty singles, across five different record labels, and also sang on a couple of other rarities. This 2-CD set comprises at least one side of each of those releases (in many cases, both sides) plus a dozen or so tracks which were not released the first time around.