Wiley Barkdull - Memories Of Wiley Barkdull 1955-1962 Going Walking | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Memories Of Wiley Barkdull 1955-1962 Going Walking
Artist: Wiley Barkdull
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/18/2023
UPC: 604988379525

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. I'll Give My Heart to You
2. Living a Life of Memories
3. Pencil and Paper Love
4. I'll Give My Heart to You
5. 'Cause You're Always on My Mind
6. Me, You and My Heart
7. I've Got a Brand New Baby
8. Going Walking
9. After All
10. Sweet As An Angel
11. Too Many
12. No One Will Ever Know
13. He Made You for Me
14. I'd Like to
15. I Ain't Gonna Waste My Time
16. Hey, Honey
17. Lonesome Journey
18. Keep a Lovin' Me Baby
19. These Old Arms
20. Tear Down That Wall
21. A Fool Left to Cry
22. When You Go
23. Jingle Bells
24. Merry Christmas to You
25. Mister Love
26. Dancing Shoes
27. The Love I Want

More Info:

This release is a further excursion into the Hickory label's archives and collates Wiley Barkdull's output for that label, much of which was published by the label's owner, Acuff-Rose Music and resulted from a deal with writer / producer / entrepreneur JD Miller. It also offers a glimpse into Barkdull's earliest work for Miller's Feature label and the Houston-based Allstar label. The tracks demonstrate how country music in the 50s was a mixture of, Cajun, western swing and rockabilly. Apart from songs written by JD Miller who discovered and nurtured Barkdull, other songwriters featured include Rusty and Doug Kershaw, Felice & Boudleaux Bryant, Melvin Endsley, Fred Rose and June and Helen Carter. Three bonus tracks are included on which Barkdull appears on Rusty & Doug Kershaw releases. The CD comes with comprehensive notes about Barkdull and his mentor JD Miller as well as the original label scans and contemporary press ads and reviews.