Claude King - Sweeter Than Honey: Complete Singles 1947-1962 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Claude King - Sweeter Than Honey: Complete Singles 1947-1962
Sweeter Than Honey: Complete Singles 1947-1962
Artist: Claude King
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/02/2024
UPC: 604988381122

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Flying Saucers
2. I Want To Be Loved
3. A Million Mistakes
4. Why Should I
5. Beers And Pinballs
6. Fifty-One Beers
7. She Knows Why
8. She's My Baby
9. Take It Like A Man
10. So Close To Me
11. I've Got The World By The Tail (1953)
12. Slow Thinking Heart
13. I Think Of You And Me
14. Now That I Love You
15. Run Baby Run
16. Not Sure Of You
17. Big River, Big Man
18. Sweet Loving
19. The Comancheros
20. I Can't Get Over The Way You Got Over Me
21. Wolverton Mountain
22. Little Bitty Heart
23. The Burning Of Atlanta
24. Don't That Moon Look Lonesome
25. I've Got The World By The Tail (1962)
26. Shopping Center
27. Sheepskin Valley
28. I Backed Out

More Info:

It took Louisiana's Claude King a long time to become an 'overnight success' but when he eventually arrived in 1962 with the country and pop chart smash 'Wolverton Mountain' he arrived in a very big way, with a Top 10 hit on both charts. Prior to this massive success, Claude had toured with some of country's most legendary names, appeared as a regular on the famous 'Louisiana Hayride' radio show, and been making records for 15 years - good records, too. Most of them came and went with little to no chart impact, and he retired from the music business more than once during those years. The sponsorship of his late friend Johnny Horton finally got him onto a major label in 1960, and almost 30 hits followed over the next decade or so. This new Jasmine collection brings together the A and B sides from all of the singles Claude made in the run-up to 'Wolverton Mountain' and right through to the end of 1962. Everything from straight ahead hillbilly to rockabilly to 'story-song' country to pristine examples of the early 60s 'Nashville Sound' is covered. When you hear some of the earlier recordings you will wonder why it to took so long for Claude to break through. Copiously annotated, extensively illustrated, superbly mastered, "Sweeter Than Honey" should tick any and every box for all fans of vintage country music.