Vic Chesnutt - Ghetto Bells: Reissue [Limited Edition Brown and Black Split Color 2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Ghetto Bells: Reissue [Limited Edition Brown and Black Split Color 2LP]
Artist: Vic Chesnutt
Format: Vinyl


Label: New West Records
Rel. Date: 01/07/2022
UPC: 607396556618

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Virginia
2. Little Caesar
3. What Do You Mean?
4. Got To Me
5. Ignorant People
6. Forthright
7. To Be With You
8. Vesuvius
9. Rambunctious Cloud
10. The Garden
11. Gnats
12. Vesuvius (Demo)
13. Forthright (Demo)
14. Prevails (Demo)

More Info:

Ghetto Bells matches the poetic power of Vic Chesnutt's words with some of the most elegantly simpatico backing he's ever been blessed with, including jazz icon Bill Frisell on guitars, legendary writer, arranger and multi-instrumentalist Van Dyke Parks on piano, accordion and organ, Don Heffington of Lone Justice and the Jayhawks on drums and percussion, classically trained session-man Dominic Genova on double bass, Tina Chesnutt on electric bass and Liz Durrett on exquisite backing vocals. At the time, Vic Chesnutt had released a dozen albums in 15 years. Ghetto Bells has a powerful resonance that reveals itself slowly. A pair of seven-minute pieces are the heart of the album, both moving forward slowly, but ever so purposefully. One of them, "Rambunctious Cloud," is further sweetened by the presence of Van Dyke Parks on accordion and a staggering guitar solo from Bill Frisell. It's a mark of Chesnutt's singular songwriting prowess that such a stellar band of disparate players came together, full of sympathetic invention, confidence and grace.

"These songs are ultimately and admirably patient and fluid, building not to grandiloquent climaxes but to a greater and greater complexity of meaning" - Pitchfork

'The songs are all-encompassing. They sweep you up. They really get to you.' - Washington Post