Melissa Lesnie - Wonderful Things To Come: Songs Of Jc Hopkins | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Wonderful Things To Come: Songs Of Jc Hopkins
Artist: Melissa Lesnie
Format: CD


Label: Twee-Jazz
Rel. Date: 03/10/2023
UPC: 613285770522

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Rainy Afternoon in the Latin Quarter
2. The Wonderful Things to Come
3. Let's Pick Up Where We Left Off
4. Remember Wen
5. I Will Always Be There for You
6. Gabrielle
7. It's a Lovely, Lovely Thing
8. A Grand Way to Live
9. Not So All Alone
10. The Leaves Are Turning Brown
11. Do You Want to Go to France?
12. I'm Getting Over You
13. Painter Song

More Info:

The Wonderful Things To Come - The JC Hopkins Songbook. a new album by Parisian vocalist Melissa Lesnie and pianist Jean-Baptiste Franc of original compositions by JC Hopkins:  The album features intimate, exclusive interpretations of Grammy-nominated songwriter's unabashedly romantic jazz tunes, performed by Paris-based duo Melissa Lesnie (voice) and Jean Baptiste-Franc (piano), with jazz quartet (William Brunard, double bass and Jonathan Gomis, drums), and additional string quartet arrangements by Daniel Garlitsky. Based in Brooklyn, the composer and songwriter JC Hopkins has built a career in the entertainment industry on originality and quality, co-authoring songs for Norah Jones, Madeleine Peyroux, and other major singers. His ensemble the Biggish Band has performed with Norah Jones, Jazzemia Horn, Jon Hendricks, Andy Bey and Elvis Costello, among others. In February 2022, Hopkins traveled to Paris to produce an album of his own songs in an intimate setting, Studio Libretto. World champion of stride piano (2018) Jean-Baptiste Franc was entrusted with the task of recording these songs (many for the first time), alongside Australian-born jazz singer Melissa Lesnie, with whom Franc had already released a first album of standards in 2020. Of the ten songs on the album, some were entirely new compositions written in the wake of the pandemic; others among Hopkins's most beloved hits, such as Painter Song, originally recorded by Norah Jones. The Wonderful Things to Come is a hope-filled journey through memory, romance, cohabitation and second chances. The JC Hopkins Songbook showcases not only the composer's skill as a lyricist and melodist, but also the talent and tenacity of these Parisian musicians at a time when the City of Lights was reawakening following the pandemic, with many lost souls seeking a soundtrack to a better world they are building for themselves and their communities.