Lars Danielsson - Symphonized | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Liberetto
2. Passacaglia
3. Africa
4. Sacred Mind
5. Lviv
6. Nikita's Dream
7. The Fifth Grade
8. I. Affettuoso
9. II. Elegi
10. Intermedium
11. III. Le Bagatelle
12. IV. Scherzo

More Info:

Swedish bassist/cellist Lars Danielsson is a master improviser, who completely engages listeners by taking them on journeys of both pleasure and wonder, with themes which are always expressive and song-like. He is far too classy and refined a musician to indulge in superficial virtuosic display. Danielsson's well-honed, naturally lyrical improvisational lines remain at the service of the flow of the music, something particularly noticeable when he steps forward and takes on the role of soloist. These core traits are also there in his extensive and much-praised work as arranger, composer and bandleader of his successful "Liberettto" ensemble. Classical music and jazz are the two determining poles of Danielsson's musical career. With his double album "Symphonized", Lars Danielsson is now fulfilling a dream: In 2017 Lars Danielsson was comissioned by the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra to write an own piece for the them, his "Concerto for English Horn and Contrabass" was born. Two years later it was recorded with Carolina Grinne as soloist on English horn and oboe. Later, the opportunity arose to record extra material at the same location. The idea of a "best-of" project with a difference, with pieces from Liberetto in orchestral form, was born. A full orchestra with 79 members and guest soloists was involved, with Peter Nordahl as conductor for both recordings. A cinematic wide-screen music has emerged, with echoes of Claus Ogermann, Nino Rota or Ennio Morricone, perhaps. And from there it is not too far to thoughts of Maurice Ravel, to whom Claude Debussy once said: "Pleasure is the law." This pleasure is palpable on the recordings. Supple, with timbres and textures in balance, and full of melodic variety, events unfold in a way which creates enjoyment. Lars Danielsson sees a challenge in using the orchestra in a way that leaves organic space for solo instruments. Melody, flow and emotion are central elements of his art.