The Dead Tongues - Unsung Passage | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Won't Be Long
2. Ebb And Flow
3. Pale November Dew
4. My Other
5. Like A Dream
6. Unsung Passage
7. The Broken Side Of People Everywhere
8. Thunder And Crash
9. The Giver
10. Clip Your Wings

More Info:

Ryan Gustafson wrote these songs during quick spans scattered between tours of the last two years-as a supporting guitarist for his kindred North Carolina spirits Hiss Golden Messenger and Phil Cook's Guitarheels and as the leader of his own vehicle for a fractured vision of folk, country, blues, and cosmic American rock, The Dead Tongues. Gustafson's third and best album under that name, Unsung Passage is a first-person reckoning with the things Gustafson, a chronically peripatetic adventurer, has seen enough to sing about. There are meditations on mortality and devotion, on money and temporality, and on impermanence and acceptance. These ten songs are snapshots in time-glimpses at the sorts of emotional upheavals and adjustments we're all forced to face as we move from day to day and, as in Gustafson's way, place to place.