William Burroughs S. - Nothing Here Now But The Recordings | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Captain Clark Welcomes You Aboard
2. The Saints Go Marching Through All the Popular Tunes
3. Summer Will
4. Outside the Pier Prowed Like Electric Turtles
5. The Total Taste Is Here - News Cut-Up
6. Choral Section, Backwards
7. We See the Future Through the Binoculars of the People
8. Just Checking Your Summer Recordings
9. Creepy Letter - Cut-Up at the Beat Hotel in Paris
10. Inching - Is This Machine Recording?
11. Handkerchief Masks - News Cut-Up
12. Word Falling - Photo Falling
13. Throat Microphone Experiment
14. It's About Time to Identify Oven Area
15. Last Words of Hassan Sabbah

More Info:

In 1980, Genesis P-Orridge and Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson (then of Throbbing Gristle renown) travelled to New York City to meet up at the fortified apartment, known as The Bunker, of famed beat writer and cultural pioneer William S. Burroughs and his executor James Grauerholz to starting the daunting task to compile the experimental sounds works of Burroughs, which, up until that point, had never been heard.During those visits, Burroughs would play back his tape recorder experiments featuring his spoken word "cut-ups", collaged field recordings from his travels and his flirtations with EVP recording techniques, pioneered by Latvian intellectual Konstantins Raudive. Throughout the next year, P-Orridge, Christopherson and Grauerholz would spent countless hours compiling various edits, each collection showcasing Burroughs sensitive ear and keen experimental prowess for audio anomaly within technical limitations.In 1981, Burroughs had relocated to Lawrence, KS in which to escape the violence of New York City. During this time, P-Orridge and Christopherson put the finishing touches on the record that would be known as "Nothing Here Now but the Recordings". The album would become the final release for Industrial Records, now reissued by Dais Records on vinyl for the first time, remastered from the original tapes.