Gareth Donkin - Welcome Home - Evergreen [Colored Vinyl] (Grn) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Till the End of Time (Night Sky)
2. Something Different
3. Whenever
4. Nothing We Can't Get Through
5. By Your Side
6. Falling for You
7. Don't Turn the Music Down
8. Tell Me Something
9. Looking for Me
10. De la Soul

More Info:

Written and recorded in a series of bedroom studios in England and France, London-based Gareth Donkin's extraordinary debut, Welcome Home, showcases the 23-year-old's stunning mix of instrumental virtuosity and emotional intuition, blending highly sophisticated melodic and harmonic craftsmanship with deeply moving lyrical explorations of longing, desire, and determination. The songs here draw on soul, funk, pop, yacht rock, hip-hop, jazz, and even bossa nova, hinting at times to everything from Michael Jackson and Bill Evans to George Benson and Jamiroquai, and Donkin's performances are nothing short of mesmerizing, layering up instrument after instrument in the best one-man-band tradition of Prince or Stevie Wonder. The result is a moving work that's equal parts brain and brawn, a masterful coming-of-age self-portrait from a young artist discovering himself-and his sound-one song at a time. Born with perfect pitch, Donkin was already fanatically obsessed with both jazz piano and drums before he turned twelve. In high school, he began DJing and teaching himself to record and sample, and by the time he headed to the Leeds College of Music to pursue a degree in production, he was already writing and recording his own material at home. His first single, "Catharsis," would go on to rack up more than a million streams on Spotify, and a series of subsequent tracks would find similarly organic success and help land him a deal with the burgeoning drink sum wtr label.