Hyman, Dick / Davern, Kenny - One Step To Chicago | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. One Step to Heaven
2. Sugar (That Sugar Baby O' Mine)
3. I've Found a New Baby
4. China Boy
5. Liza
6. Shim-Me-Sha-Wabble
7. The Darktown Strutters' Ball
8. Wabash Blues
9. Nobody's Sweetheart
10. The Jazz Me Blues
11. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home?
12. Wolverine Blues
13. Indiana
14. Farewell Blues

More Info:

[CD in deluxe hardback book] On July 31, 1992, more than 50 years after he conceived and produced the world's first jazz album, legendary producer George Avakian brought three generations of jazz giants together in RCA's New York studio to record the exciting music of Frank Teschemacher and the Austin High Gang. The morning session under the direction of Dick Hyman captured spirited note-for-note re-creations of famous Teschemacher records of the 1920s while the afternoon session directed by Kenny Davern focused on fresh, original interpretations of tunes associated with Tesch. When the expense of releasing the lavish production outpaced the available budget, the project was shelved, and the recordings went unheard. In time, they became the stuff of jazz legend. Now, 30 years later, Rivermont is pleased to present their premiere release, mastered from the original analog session tapes and supplemented by an 80-page hardback book with dozens of previously unpublished photos and extensive commentary by Dan Levinson, Hank O'Neal, Hal Smith, and Marty Grosz. Musicians include Peter Ecklund and Dick Sudhalter (cornet), Kenny Davern and Dan Levinson (clarinet), Jon-Erik Kellso (trumpet), Dan Barrett (trombone), Ken Peplowski (tenor sax), Marty Grosz and Howard Alden (banjo and guitar), Dick Hyman (piano), Vince Giordano (tuba and bass sax), Bob Haggart and Milt Hinton (bass), Tony DeNicola and Arnie Kinsella (drums). 14 tracks, 72 minutes.