Royce Martin - Memories On Morgan Street: Scott Joplin Reimagined | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Royce Martin - Memories On Morgan Street: Scott Joplin Reimagined
Memories On Morgan Street: Scott Joplin Reimagined
Artist: Royce Martin
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 07/05/2024
UPC: 620953684029

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. A Dream Defined
2. Maple Leaf Rag
3. The Entertainer
4. Elite Syncopations
5. Solace
6. Scott Joplin's New Rag
7. Stoptime Rag
8. Heliotrope Bouquet
9. Bethena
10. Fig Leaf Rag
11. Pine Apple Rag
12. Magnetic Rag
13. Lily Queen
14. Dreamland
15. Rags to Riches
16. To the Stars

More Info:

There is something magical about hearing a well-loved piece of music interpreted in a way that rekindles the joy and exhilaration of hearing it for the first time. In his approach to the the music of Scott Joplin, composer and pianist Royce Martin has positioned himself at the fore of a new ragtime vanguard. Drawing inspiration from gospel, jazz, classical, and even hip-hop, Martin re-imagines Joplin's music in a variety of moods, from poignant, heartfelt, and introspective; to playful and humorous; to brimming with joyful, youthful exuberance. Martin's virtuosic "rag-bop" interpretations never lose sight of Joplin's melodic genius or the rhythmic drive that animates the best ragtime. In addition to 12 piano solos, this deluxe 2-CD edition of the album includes several audio drama vignettes depicting imagined scenes from Joplin's life and beyond, and the original rap song "Rags to Riches," which incorporates Joplin's "The Entertainer." Recorded in the Scott Joplin House State Historic Site, St. Louis, Missouri. 16 tracks. 69 minutes. Includes liner notes by the artist.