Jimmie Spheeris - Alive In America (Coll) [Remastered] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Let It Flow
2. Heidi Come Home
3. Icarus
4. Thrill Rides in the Theta Universe
5. The Original Tap Dancing Kid
6. Ain't No Use Walkin' (When You Can Stroll)
7. Blown Out
8. Eternity Spin
9. I Am the Mercury
10. Soul Tumbleweed
11. I Get Burned (And Walk Away)
12. Tequila Moonlight
13. In the Misty Woods
14. Love Potion No. 9
15. Since I Fell for You
16. The Original Tap Dancing Kid II
17. The Nest

More Info:

Jimmie (James) Spheeris was born in Phenix City, Alabama, to Juanita 'Gypsy' and Andrew Spheeris, who owned and operated a traveling carnival called the Majick Empire. These childhood years of colorful transience were a major influence on later work, as evidenced in songs such as "Lost in the Midway" and "Decatur Street," among others. Spheeris moved to New York City in the late 1960s to pursue his songwriting career. The liner notes on his debut album credit friend and fellow songwriter Richie Havens, who introduced Spheeris to Columbia Records executive Clive Davis. Spheeris' 1972 debut album, Isle of View, garnered a devoted following and FM radio airplay, most notably for the song "I Am the Mercury." His 1973 album, The Original Tap Dancing Kid, was followed by a period of extensive concert touring. Spheeris returned to the recording studio in 1975 with The Dragon Is Dancing and released Ports of the Heart in 1976. This is a live concert recording from 1974 in Denver.